HomeArticlesDartmouth: 2016 – 2017 Men's College Squash Season Preview

Dartmouth: 2016 – 2017 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Dartmouth College Hanover, NH — Dartmouth had a season for the ages last year. In December, the Big Green shocked the world and defeated Harvard. The last time Dartmouth defeated the Crimson was during the 1945 – 46 season, when according to the Crimson record book, no formal team existed for Harvard due to World War II. To add to the magical season, Dartmouth earned its first victory over Princeton since Ivy League athletic play was formalized in the late 1950s.  For their Ivy League accomplishments last season, the team earned two of the three Ivy League individual awards: Rookie of the Year went to Carson Spahr and Coach of the Year went to Hansi Wiens. Captain Glen Brickman will lead a squad that returns seven of its starting nine from Team Championships, including their top-4 players. The returners’ experience should only help the team this year. Dartmouth’s strength last season came from the lower two thirds of the ladder. If they maintain that strength and improve slightly at the top of the ladder, look for the Big Green to be in the fight for the middle of the Potter Cup.

2015-2016 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 10-6

Final Ranking: 7

Team Championships: 7th in the Potter Cup (A Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 2 of 4… Top 3 Win%: .375… Middle 3 Win%: .604… Lower 3 Win%: .604…


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Hansi Wiens (Ivy League Men’s Coach of the Year)

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Alvin Heumann (2018 – All-Ivy League Team; Academic All-Ivy); 2. Carson Spahr (2019 – Ivy League Rookie of the Year); 3. Samuel Epley (2019); 4. Matthew Giegerich (2019); 5. Nicholas Harrington (2017 – CSA Scholar Athlete); 8. Glen Brickman (2017); 9. Brian Giegerich (2018); 11. Drew Field (2017 – CSA Scholar Athlete)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 6. Kyle Martino (2016); 7. James Fisch (2016); and 10. Xander Greer (2016)

Additions to the 2016-2017 Roster:

  • Brandon De Otaduy Nam (Queretaro, Mexico – The Lawrenceville School)
  • Sean Han Oen (Princeton Jct., NJ – The Hun School of Princeton)
  • Leyton Johnston (Buffalo, NY – Nichols School)
  • Andrew Monroe (New Canaan, CT – Brunswick School)

Team Goals: To build on last season’s success.

Key Matches: Ivy League matches

To read other team previews, please visit the 2016-2017 College Squash Season Previews page.