HomeArticlesWilliam Smith: 2016 – 2017 Women's College Squash Season Preview

William Smith: 2016 – 2017 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

William Smith College Geneva, NY — None of William Smith’s current players were in college when the Herons last won the Epps Cup (D Division), at the 2013 Women’s College Squash Association National Team Championships. Head coach Chip Fishback would like his seniors to earn their first division title or move up into the Walker Cup (C Division). With the graduation of one senior from last season’s starting nine and three players studying abroad during the first semester, look for William Smith to play its best squash during the second semester. With five first-year students joining the Herons and the return of their former #1 player, William Smith should have a deeper roster than last season. Crucial to their success will be close matches. Last year, the Herons went 0-2 in 5-4 matches. With one of those 5-4 losses coming to Epps Cup winners Wesleyan in the semifinals of the Epps Cup, William Smith appears poised to be in the mix for a top-25 ranking position this season.

2015-2016 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 17-9

Final Ranking: 27

Team Championships: 3rd in the Epps Cup (D Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 0 of 2… Top 3 Win%: .577… Middle 3 Win%: .654… Lower 3 Win%: .673…


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Chip Fishback

Returning Players from Team Championships:  2. Mikey Denton (2018); 3. Madison Bradley (2019); 4. Delaney Teceno (2017);  7. Brooke Hayes (2017, CSA Scholar Athlete); 9. Stacy Maceda (2019); 10. Hattye Hytla (2019);

Studying Abroad During the First Semester: 1. Cashel McCarthy (2018); 5. Peyton Capute (2018); 6. Anna Worcester (2018);

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 8. Justine Shank (2016); 11. Erin Casey (2016);

Additions to the 2016-2017 Roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 3: Allie Rubin (2017, returning from study abroad) and Gabby Fraser (Mercersburg Academy)
  • Expected to play in the middle 3: Djeneba Ballo (Frederick Douglass Academy) and Karina Lazaro (Tabor Academy)
  • Expected to play in the bottom 3: Maddie Saiontz (Bryn Mawr School for Girls) and Sydney Brodie (School of the Holy Child)

Captains: Brooke Hayes and Cashel McCarthy

Team Goals: To capture the Epps Cup or qualify for the Walker Cup

Key Matches: St. Lawrence and Wellesley

To read other team previews, please visit the 2016-2017 College Squash Season Previews page.