HomeArticlesCSA Presents 2022-2023 All-America Selections

CSA Presents 2022-2023 All-America Selections

Notable players named to 2022-2023 CSA All-America teams: Simmi Chan (Columbia), George Crowne (Harvard), Siva Subramaniam (Cornell), Mohammed Sharaf (Trinity) (photos by Michael T. Bello)

For the 2022-2023 season, players from 12 different College Squash Association (CSA) member institutions make up the men’s and women’s All-America teams. Harvard University and Trinity College led the way in overall selections with seven players – four women and three men each. Not far behind, University of Pennsylvania had five of their own selections, including one on the women’s side.

The players earning All-America status have excelled on court throughout both the regular season and the championships. To view the CSA criteria for All-American status, please view it here

Cornell’s National Collegiate Individual Finalist Sivasangari Subramaniam and Harvard’s Marwan Tarek are the only two members of the All-America teams who have earned First Team status in all four seasons of their careers. Both players also captured a National Collegiate Individual Championships earlier in their careers. Drexel’s Matias Knudsen garnered his fourth selection as well, doubling his First Team total after starting his career with two Second Team honors.

Five student-athletes – Alina Bushma (Drexel), Veer Chotrani (Cornell), Omar El Torkey (Virginia), Aly Hussein (Virginia), and Karina Tyma (Drexel) – were selected to their third All-America team. Chotrani has three straight First Team honors, while the remaining four players have at least one Second Team selection.

In total, 17 student-athletes received All-America honors for the first time in their college squash careers. The full list of CSA All-Americans is as follows:

Women’s All-Americans

First Team
Meagan Best (University of Virginia)
Alina Bushma (Drexel University)
Simmi Chan (Columbia University)
Malak Kamal (Trinity College)
Saran Nghiem (Harvard University)
Jana Safy (Trinity College)
Marina Stefanoni (Harvard University)
Sivasangari Subramaniam (Cornell University)
Andrea Toth (Princeton University)
Karina Tyma (Drexel University)

Second Team
Hannah Chukwu (Trinity College)
Serena Daniel (Harvard University)
Habeeba Eldefrawy (Harvard University)
Aishwarya Khubchandani (Cornell University)
Wen Li Lai (Cornell University)
Si Ma (Stanford University)
Lujan Palacios (Trinity College)
Elisabeth Ross (Yale University)
Malak Taha (University of Pennsylvania)
Nouran Youssef (Trinity College)

Men’s All-Americans: 

First Team
Veer Chotrani (Cornell University)
George Crowne (Harvard University)
Karim Elbarbary (Princeton University)
Aly Hussein (University of Virginia)
Matias Knudsen (Drexel University)
Nathan Tze Bing Kueh (University of Pennsylvania)
Mohamed Sharaf (Trinity College)
Nicholas Spizzirri (University of Pennsylvania)
Marwan Tarek (Harvard University)
Siow Yee Xian (Yale University)

Second Team
Lewis Anderson (St. Lawrence University)
Roger Baddour (University of Pennsylvania)
Ido Burstein (Harvard University)
Joachim Chuah (Trinity College)
Omar El Torkey (University of Virginia)
Yash Fadte (University of Rochester)
Dillon Huang (University of Pennsylvania)
Abdelrahman Lasheen (University of Rochester)
Daelum Mawji (Princeton University)
Abdelrahman Nassar (Trinity College)
Maxwell Orr (Yale University)