Franklin & Marshall: 2011 – 2012 Men’s College Squash Season Preview


Lancaster, PA — Franklin & Marshall had an exceptional 2010-2011 season. The Diplomats climbed from 11th to 8th in the national rankings, competed in the A Division, and even brought home the national intercollegiate doubles title, thanks to the efforts of Gabe de Melo and Ryan Mullaney. This season the team will attempt to hold the impressive ground they made while working with new head coach Gavin Jones, who succeeds John White.

The Diplomats will return most of their top 9 players from last season and will see an influx of players with high school squash experience. Alexander Arjoon (Berkshire School), Brian Henry (Shipley School), Peter Koekkoek (Brooks School), David Snyder (Boys’ Latin School), and Chris Stanton (Mercersburg Academy) will be the new faces on the Diplomats’ squad.

2010-2011 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 11-7 (Ketcham Cup champions: Gabe de Melo and Ryan Mullaney)

Final Ranking: 8

Team Championships: 8th in Potter Cup (A Division)


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Gavin Jones

Associate Head Coach: Ron Epps

Captains: Gabe De Melo and Pat Cunningham.

Returning Players from Team Championships: (1) Gabriel De melo (First Team All-American), (2) Guilherme De melo, (3) Mauricio Sedano, (4) Sujat Barua, (7) Patrick Cunningham, (8) Aadit Zaveri, (9) Ryan Mullaney, (10) Freddy Hernandez, (11) Jack Cutler

Graduated/Non-returning players from 2010-2011 Team: Juan Lopez (5), Ben Lurio, Scott Nehbras, Ben Haack, Chris Gagnier

Additions to the 2011-2012 roster: Alexander Arjoon, Brian Henry, Peter Koekkoek, David Snyder, and Chris Stanton

Team Goals: To finish in the top 8

Key Matches: Cornell and Dartmouth

To read other team previews, please visit the 2011-2012 College Squash Season Previews page.