2017 College Squash Individual Championships: Day 2 Afternoon Report


College Squash AssociationHanover, NH — On a frigid day in New Hampshire, play continued at the 2017 College Squash Association Individual Championships.

Ramsay Cup (Women’s A Division): Penn’s Reeham Sedky continued her march toward the Ramsay Cup this afternoon with a three-game victory over Yale’s Jenny Scherl. In the opposing quarterfinal, Kayley Leonard, a semifinalist last season, advanced in four games over Princeton’s Olivia Fiechter.

Penn’s Marie Stephan is looking to make it an all Penn final. She advanced in three games over Trinity’s Raneem Sharaf. Georgina Kennedy (Harvard) ended Yale’s Lucy Beecroft’s run with a three-game victory.

This afternoon’s semifinals will feature Sedky facing Leonard and Stephan meeting Kennedy.

Women’s B DivisionIn the Holleran North, the following players advanced in the main draw: Margaux Losty (Cornell), Luca Polgar (Bates), Jacqueline Barnes (Dartmouth), and Alexandra Toth (Princeton).

Play for the main South, East, and West draws is underway.

Pool Trophy (Men’s A Division): This season’s Pool Trophy is arguably the deepest in the history of the tournament. In the quarterfinals, Columbia’s Osama Khalifa advanced with a 3-0 win against Bates’ Ahmed Hatata. Rochester’s Ryosei Kobayashi, this season’s Skillman Award winner and the finalist in the Pool Trophy last season, faced Trinity’s Thoboki Mohohlo in the opposing quarterfinal. After losing the first game, Mohohlo captured the final three games to end the illustrious collegiate career of Kobayashi.

In a match that seemed like it would never end, St. Lawrence’s Ahmed Bayoumy won a five-game contest against Harvard’s Saadeldin Abouaish. Rochester’s Mario Yanez, a semifinalist last season, rallied from a 1-2 game deficit against St. Lawrence’s Mohamed El Gawarhy to enter this season’s semifinals.

The semifinals begin at 3:45 PM. Khalifa will face Mohohlo, and Bayoumy will take on Yanez.

Men’s B Division: In the Molloy North, the following players advanced in the main draw: Spencer Lovejoy (Yale), Carson Spahr (Dartmouth), MIchael Thompson (Drexel), and Lawrence Kuhn (Rochester).

Play for the main South, East, and West draws is underway.