2015 Women’s National Team Championships: B, C, D, E, and F Finals


Cambridge, MA — Stanford, Amherst, Tufts, Dickinson, and Boston University won their division titles at the 2015 Women’s National Team Championships.

B Division (Kurtz Cup): Stanford upset Dartmouth 6-3 to win the 2015 Kurtz Cup. Along the way to the final, Stanford defeated Drexel and Brown, while Dartmouth, the top seed in the division, beat Bates and Williams. In the final, Dartmouth’s Zainab Molani and Sarah Caughey both won five-game matches, but Stanford swept the top four matches as well as #6 and #9, clinching the title early. This is the first time in program history Stanford has won a division title at the Women’s National Team Championships.

C Division (Walker Cup): The Walker Cup final featured the two most recent C Division winners: Amherst, the defending champions, and Bowdoin, the 2013 winners. Amherst had reached the final after defeating Wellesley and Colby, while Bowdoin had defeated Wesleyan and upset Hamilton in the first two rounds. Amherst jumped out to a 3-0 lead in the first round, gaining momentum from Haley McAtee’s five-game win at #3. Bowdoin stayed in the match in the next flight with wins at #2 and #5, but Amherst still managed to clinch early, ultimately winning 6-3.

D Division (Epps Cup): William Smith and Tufts were the top two seeds in the Epps Cup. William Smith, seeded first, defeated Boston College and Mount Holyoke en route to the final, and second-seeded Tufts beat Haverford and Conn College. In the final, the matches became more competitive down the ladder. Tufts won #1 and #2 in three games and #3, #4, #5, and #6 in four games. Anna Worcester won in five for the Jumbos at #7, and Justine Shank won in five for the Herons at #8. The final score was Tufts 7, William Smith 2, as the Jumbos pulled off an upset to take home the Epps Cup.

E Division: Dickinson, the CSA’s newest varsity program, didn’t waste much time in winning their first division title. The Red Devils, who were seeded second in the E Division, swept Colgate in the opening round and defeated Washington University in St. Louis 7-2 in the semifinal. In the final, Dickinson faced Northwestern, a team who had upset Smith in the quarters and then Vassar in the semis. Playing immediately after the semifinals on Saturday because of the impending storm, Dickinson defeated Northwestern 6-3.

F Division: Newcomers Boston University dominated round robin play in the F Division. The Terriers opened the tournament by beating Northeastern 7-2. They followed up that performance by blanking Minnesota, and they concluded the tournament with an 8-1 win over NYU. Northeastern had the second-best record in the F Division; the Huskies had two close wins over NYU and Minnesota.