MIT: 2010 – 2011 Men’s College Squash Season Preview


Cambridge, MA — MIT opened the 2009-2010 season with a 6-3 win against Boston College, but then struggled for much of the season.

They lost their first two matches in the Conroy Cup (“D” Division) competition at the Men’s National Team Championships 9-0. In their final match of the season, the Engineers lost the top five matches to a Northeastern squad they had narrowly beaten earlier in the season. However, MIT swept the bottom four matches plus the exhibition match, an encouraging sign for the team.

MIT also had four players recognized as CSA Scholar-Athletes. To be named a Scholar-Athlete, a player should  be two-time varsity letter winner, have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5, have been enrolled in their current school for at least a year, be a junior or senior, and have participated in approximately 75% or more of scheduled varsity matches. The MIT CSA Scholar-Athletes were Robert Habib, George Pratt, Andrew Yoon, and Mick Zomnir.

Yoon and Pratt, who played number 1 and number 5, respectively, were the only MIT players to have graduated last year. All of the players who won matches at the Men’s National Team Championships should be back in the lineup, giving the Engineers a solid foundation from which to build.

2009-2010 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 3-18
Final Ranking: 32
Team Championships: 32nd Overall; 8th in Conroy Cup (D Division)


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Nadeem Mazen

Returning Players from Team Championships: Austin Anderson (3); Ishaan Chugh (9); Robert Habib (6); Connor Kirschbaum (7); John Kucharczyk (4); Joey Lemberg (8); Sunny Long (10); Mick Zomnir (2);

Graduates on Last Season’s Team Championships Roster: George Pratt (5); Andrew Yoon (1; 2009-2010 Captain)

To read other team previews, please visit the 2010 – 2011 College Squash Preview Page.