HomeArticlesCSA Announces 2019-2020 All-America Teams

CSA Announces 2019-2020 All-America Teams

Notable players named to 2019-2020 CSA All-America teams (l to r; photos: Michael T. Bello): Amelia Henley (Harvard), Spencer Lovejoy (Yale), Georgina Kennedy (Harvard), Lucy Beecroft (Yale), Saadeldin Abouaish (Harvard), Vanessa Raj (Trinity)

The College Squash Association (CSA) presented the 2019-2020 All-America teams on Tuesday. The All-America selections have exhibited the highest standard of college squash excellence both during the regular season and throughout championship play.

Representatives from 12 different CSA member institutions make up the men’s and women’s All-America teams. Fittingly, reigning team and individual champions Harvard University earn the most All-America selections, with five for both genders including the first and second teams. Perennial power Trinity College earned the second most honors with six, three for each squad. CSA National Collegiate Individual Championships hosts University of Pennsylvania had the team with the next most selections on a single team, with the men earning four All-America nods, while Howe Cup finalists Princeton University had three honorees of their own.

Two of the three Betty Richey Award finalists – Harvard’s three-time Individual National Champion Georgina Kennedy and Yale’s senior captain Lucy Beecroft – capped off stellar careers by joining elite company with their fourth First Team All-America selection. Seniors Amelia Henley from Harvard and Vanessa Raj from Trinity each captured the fourth All-America award of their careers as well. Super sophomores Sarahi Lopez of Trinity and Sivasangari Subramaniam of Cornell each earned First Team status for the second time in two years.

Once again, the men’s All-America teams are light on seniors, with only four earning selections this year. Of the four, two were Skillman Award finalists – winner Spencer Lovejoy of Yale and Saadeldin Abouaish from Harvard – who completed excellent careers by clinching their third First Team All-American honors each. First-year players helped put (or keep) their teams on the map with All-America honors in their inaugural seasons, including Veer Chotrani from Cornell (First Team), Aly Hussein (First Team) and Omar El Torkey (Second Team) from University of Virginia, and Miko Aijanen (First Team) and Aly Eltokhy (Second Team) of Trinity.

To view the CSA criteria for All-American status, please view it here.

Women’s All-Americans:

First Team
Lucy Beecroft (Yale University)
Jessica Davis (University of Pennsylvania)
Zoe Foo Yuk Han (George Washington University)
Amelia Henley (Harvard University)
Georgina Kennedy (Harvard University)
Sarahi Lopez Dominguez (Trinity College)
Hana Moataz (Harvard University)
Habiba Mohamed (Columbia University)
Sivasangari Subramaniam (Cornell University)
Karina Tyma (Drexel University)

Second Team
Alina Bushma (Drexel University)
Hannah Craig (Harvard University)
Raneem El Torky (Princeton University)
Eleonore Evans (Harvard University)
Emma Jinks (University of Virginia)
Vanessa Raj (Trinity College)
Elle Ruggiero (Princeton University)
Akanksha Salunkhe (Trinity College)
Caroline Spahr (Princeton University)
Elena Wagenmans (Stanford University)

Men’s All-Americans

First Team
Aly Abou El Einen (University of Pennsylvania)
Saadeldin Abouaish (Harvard University)
Miko Aijanen (Trinity College)
Veer Chotrani (Cornell University)
Victor Crouin (Harvard University)
Andrew Douglas (University of Pennsylvania)
James Flynn (University of Pennsylvania)
Aly Hussein (University of Virginia)
Youssef Ibrahim (Princeton University)
Spencer Lovejoy (Yale University)
Marwan Tarek (Harvard University)

Second Team
Yash Bhargava (University of Pennsylvania)
George Crowne (Harvard University)
Ashley Davies (University of Rochester)
Omar El Torkey (University of Virginia)
Aly Eltokhy (Trinity College)
Matias Knudsen (Drexel University)
Andrew Lee (Trinity College)
Nadav Raziel (Yale University)
Lucas Rousselet (Drexel University)
Samuel Scherl (Harvard University)
Matthew Toth (University of Rochester)
James Wyatt (Columbia University)