HomeArticlesDickinson Men Win 2016 Men’s College Squash Barnaby Award

Dickinson Men Win 2016 Men’s College Squash Barnaby Award

Dickinson CollegeHatfield, MA — Dickinson College won the 2016 Men’s College Squash Association Barnaby Award.

The award is named for Jack Barnaby, who coached the Harvard men for decades and later coached the Harvard women. Harvard struggled during the first few years of Barnaby’s tenure, but the Crimson ultimately became a national powerhouse under his leadership, winning national title after national title. By the time he retired from coaching the men’s team in 1976, Barnaby had compiled a 355-95 lifetime record. His team capped his final season with a national title, going undefeated.

First presented in 1983, the Barnaby Award recognizes the most improved team in men’s college squash. Voting for the Barnaby Award was conducted after Team Championships, which allowed schools to view Team Championship results prior to casting their vote.

In only their second season as a varsity squad, the Dickinson men showed drastic improvement. At the end of the 2014 – 2015 season, the Red Devils were ranked 55th in the country. At the conclusion of this season, Dickinson had moved up to the 26th ranking position. To put that in perspective, Dickinson vaulted from the lower half of the Hawthorn Cup (G Division) to a second place finish in the Conroy Cup (D Division) at Team Championships.

The 2015-2016 Dickinson team was led by head coach Chris Sachvie, who guided the Red Devils to a 14-9 record. This is the first Men’s College Squash Association award for the Dickinson men.