HomeArticlesPrinceton: 2014 – 2015 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Princeton: 2014 – 2015 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Princeton UniversityPrinceton, NJ — Princeton is looking to return to the Potter Cup (A Division) this season. Last season, the Tigers’ toughest opponent may have been injuries. Despite the physical struggles, first year coach Sean Wilkinson guided the team to the Hoehn Cup (B Division) title, and the team was presented with the Sloane Award (team sportsmanship). “The league is much deeper now than it ever has been, and there are no longer any easy matches. It’s great for the entire league that it is so competitive,” states Wilkinson.  Three experienced freshmen are joining the Tigers’ squad, which will help fill the gaps of the two graduates from Princeton’s team championship line-up. The team has updated its locker rooms, which is a welcome change for the Tigers. With 4 of the 5 players from last year’s lineup returning for their senior season, look for Princeton to make the most of this campaign. Tri-captain Tyler Osborne will serve as one of the team’s captains for the second year in a row. According to Wilkinson, Osborne has “led the team with complete distinction, both in his academic work and also on the squash court. His dedication to his teammates is unquestionable, and he finds balancing his own needs versus those of the team relatively comfortable.” The battle for positions in the A Division will be fierce, but the Tigers are up for the challenge.

2013-2014 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 8-7

Final Ranking: 9

Team Championships: 1st in the Hoehn Cup

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 1 of 2 … Position with the Most Wins: #2s had 12 Wins


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Sean Wilkinson

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Samuel Kang (2015 – CSA First Team All-American, CSA Scholar Athlete, Academic All-Ivy, All-Ivy League Team); 2. Tyler Osborne (2015 – CSA Second Team All-American, All-Ivy League Team, Academic All-Ivy); 4. David Hoffman (2015); 5. Taylor Tutrone (2015); 6. Michael LeBlanc (2016); 7. Samuel Ezratty (2016); 9. Benjamin Leizman (2017); 10. Michael East (2017); 11. Jacob Lee (2015)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 3. Dylan Ward (2014 – CSA Second Team All-American); 8. Ash Egan (2014)

Additions to the 2014-2015 Roster:

  • Expected to play in the middle 3: Jarryd Osborne (Bayridge – Kingston, Ont)
  • Expected to play in the bottom 3: Manik Datta (returning from semester off) and Abhimanyu Sha (Cathedral and John Connon School – Mumbai, India)

Captains: David Hoffman, Tyler Osborne, and Samuel Kang

Team Goals: To get back into the A Flight

Key Matches: All matches

To read other team previews, please visit the 2014-2015 College Squash Season Previews page.