HomeArticles2012 NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Teams Announced

2012 NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Teams Announced

Hadley, MA — After the season ended, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) recognized a select group of athletes for outstanding sportsmanship by naming them to the 2011-2012 Winter All-Sportsmanship Team.

One player from each team from each school was selected by their coaches and teammates to receive the honor. The NESCAC press release outlined the qualities that were recognized:

“The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and examples, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.”

Athletes participating in basketball, ice hockey, and swimming and diving were also named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. Squash players, however, stood out: six men’s players named to the All-Sportsmanship team also earned All-Conference honors, the most of any sport. Harry Smith of Colby was the only athlete out of all those who participated in winter sports at NESCAC schools to earn All-Conference and All-Sportsmanship honors for all four years of his intercollegiate athletic career.

Congratulations to all who earned NESCAC All-Sportsmanship honors!

2012 NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team

Men’s Team

Women’s Team