HomeArticles2012 All-Liberty League Men's College Squash Team Announced

2012 All-Liberty League Men’s College Squash Team Announced

Liberty LeagueNorthampton, MA — The Liberty League announced its all-conference team earlier this year. The Liberty League has five member schools that field varsity men’s squash teams: Bard, Hobart, Rochester, St. Lawrence, and Vassar. (As only three Liberty League schools — St. Lawrence, William Smith, and Vassar — have varsity women’s squash teams, the league does not have a women’s tournament or name a women’s all-league team.)

Rochester junior Andres Duany was named 2012 Liberty League Player of the Year. Playing #1 and #2 for the Yellowjackets , Duany posted a 9-5 record and reached the quarterfinals of Pool Trophy (A Division) at the 2012 men’s individual championships, earning All-American honors for the second year in a row. He went undefeated at the Liberty League tournament, winning all of his matches decisively. His 3-0 win over Richard Dodd of Yale at the Men’s National Team Championships helped Rochester secure a 5-4 victory over the Bulldogs to finish the season ranked fifth in the nation.

Kyle Ogilvie of St. Lawrence was named 2012 Liberty League Rookie of the Year. In his first year of collegiate play, Ogilvy played #1 and #2 for the Saints, going 10-11 on the season. At the 2012 Men’s National Team Championships, Ogilvy’s win over Kevin Chen of Williams helped the Saints to their first-ever win over the Ephs and their best finish at the Men’s National Team Championships in program history. Ogilvy reached the quarterfinals of the Molloy Cup (B Division) at the 2012 men’s individual championships, the first Saints’ player to advance to the round of eight.

Several seniors earned all-conference honors in their final year of collegiate play: Joe Chapman, Matt Domenick, and Beni Fischer of Rochester, who were all named to the first team, and Kevin Kent of Hobart, who earned honorable mention. Fischer also won the 2012 Skillman Award, the Men’s College Squash Association’s top individual honor.

Martin Heath of Rochester was named 2012 Liberty League Coach of the Year. Under Heath’s guidance, the Yellowjackets won their fifth consecutive Liberty League title. Rochester amassed an 11-5 record for the 2011-2012 season and finished fifth in the nation, cementing their status as an A Division team. After the 2005-2006 season, Heath’s first with the team, Rochester finished 25th in the national rankings. Over the next few seasons the team shot up the rankings, and since the 2008-2009 season has been a top-five team. The thrilling win over perennial powerhouse Yale showed that Rochester intends to stay in the upper echelon of college squash.

Congratulations to all who earned All-Liberty League honors!

All Liberty-League