Hobart: 2011 – 2012 Men’s College Squash Season Preview


Geneva, NY — The Statesmen will have a new coach at the helm this season as Tim Riskie succeeds Carol Weymuller.

It will be a bit of a rebuilding year for Hobart. The 2011 Conroy Cup finalists, who came within a match of beating out Connecticut College for the D Division title, have lost four players from their top 9, including their number 2 and number 3. Two new players — McGee O’Neil and Cesar Peralta — will be joining the team.

Hobart’s five courts had new floors installed over the summer, and the Statesmen will open their season on the road at the Navy Round Robin.

Riskie is enthusiastic about the upcoming season. “We are going to have a ton of fun getting fit, working hard, and playing squash,” he says.

2010-2011 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 6-14

Final Ranking: 26

Team Championships: 2nd in Conroy Cup (D Division)


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Tim Riskie

Returning Players from Team Championships: (1) Daniel Pelaez (CSA Scholar Athlete, All-Liberty League), (6) Edgardo Gonzalez, (7) Kevin Kent, (8) Will Boyle, (10) Julian Snider, (11) Grant Bercari

Graduated/Non-returning players from 2010-2011 Team: (2) Grant Palermo, (3) Luke Esselen, (5) Carl Ranieri, (9) Dan Sills (CSA Scholar Athlete)

Additions to the 2011-2012 roster: McGee O’Neil and Cesar Peralta

Key Matches: Every match

 To read other team previews, please visit the 2011-2012 College Squash Season Previews page.