HomeArticlesMount Holyoke Honored With 2019 Women's Most Improved Team Award

Mount Holyoke Honored With 2019 Women’s Most Improved Team Award

Mount Holyoke College, represented by Head Coach Erin Robson (second from left) and top players Mihiliya Kalahe Arachchige (left) and Nadindhi Udangawa (second from right), was presented with the 2019 CSA Women’s Most Improved Team Award at the 2019 Individual National Championships by CSA Executive Director & League Commissioner David Poolman (right; photo credit: Michael T. Bello).

Mount Holyoke College has earned the College Squash Association’s (CSA) 2019 Women’s Most Improved Team Award.  The award, voted on by all of the CSA women’s varsity teams, recognizes the team that has improved the most since the end of the previous season in both its final team ranking and the quality of the opponents it has surpassed.

The Lyons finished the season with an impressive 16-9 record, including several key regular season wins which helped propel them up the rankings and into Walker Cup competition at the CSA Women’s Team National Championships.

“It is amazing to receive recognition from the other CSA coaches and teams,” said Mount Holyoke Head Coach Erin Robson. “This is a very special award as it allows us to celebrate the contributions and sacrifices of every member our team from top to bottom.”

After finishing the 2017-2018 season ranked 28th and starting the 2018-2019 season in the same position, Mount Holyoke completed the regular season in 21st position. While Wesleyan University avenged their loss to Mount Holyoke on the final day of Walker Cup play, the Lyons’ final ranking of 22 is their highest since 2014 when they also finished ranked 22nd.  The six-position jump from 28th to 22nd was the biggest improvement of any team in the CSA this year.

Coach Robson added, “It is especially important to share the award with all those in our Mount Holyoke community who have provided so much support to our program.  Thank you!”

The first Women’s Most Improved Team Award was given in 2010.  The 2019 award is the first Most Improved Team Award for Mount Holyoke.