HomeArticlesSt. Lawrence: 2018-2019 Women's College Squash Season Preview

St. Lawrence: 2018-2019 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

The St. Lawrence University Women’s Squash program enters the 2018-2019 season looking to improve among Walker Cup competition while maintaining the level of sportsmanship and fair play that garnered them accolades last year.  It was the first time that the Saints earned the Chaffee Award, the College Squash Association’s top sportsmanship honor for a women’s team.  They approach the year with experienced players coming back to the top of their lineup, including Liberty League Co-Rookie of the Year Katie Smith.  Despite losing some depth through graduation, three incoming players will step into the squad looking to make a difference right away.  Assistant Coach Owen Butler will manage the team in the near term after Head Coach Chris Abplanalp took the same position at Colby College and while St. Lawrence opens its search for a new team leader.  Meantime, the Saints Women will try to hold off Liberty League foe William Smith College for a spot in the C Division bracket.

2017-2018 SEASON RECAP

Season Record:  9-13

Final Ranking: 24

Team Championships Result:  8th in the Walker Cup (C Division)


Head Coach:  TBD

Returning Players from Team Championships:

  1. Alexandra Matamoros Infante; 2. Katie Smith; 3. Gabrielle Ahrens; 6. Cindy Yao; 8. Katie Walsh; 10. Abigail Smith

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships:

  1. Losangela Batista; 5. Cristina De La Vega; 7. Allie Brazo; 9. Madison Goodwine

Additions to 2018-2019 Roster:

  • Makyla Kelley
  • Kat Levia
  • Starnisha Ramsey

Key Matches:  Hamilton, Franklin & Marshall, William Smith

To read season previews for other CSA teams, please visit the 2018-2019 College Squash Season Previews page.