HomeArticlesWellesley: 2016 – 2017 Women's College Squash Season Preview

Wellesley: 2016 – 2017 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

Wellesley College Wellesley, MA — Last season, Wellesley made their fourth consecutive appearance in the Walker Cup (C Division) at the Women’s College Squash Association National Team Championships. The Blue Pride want to move higher in the rankings. To do so, they know that matches against teams like Mount Holyoke, Conn College, Tufts, and William Smith will be critical. The squad lost four players from last season’s starting line-up for Team Championships, including Kate Loftus, the 2016 Wetzel Award winner. The team is expecting a first-year player to join the top third of its ladder. This will benefit the Blue Pride by pushing a few players farther down the line-up. If Wellesley can get more wins out of its lower 3, the team could add a few more team victories to its record, which would help them climb the rankings. Wellesley will also be looking to earn its fourth consecutive Seven Sisters crown. Team leaders Rhea Advani, Meera Nayar, and Sarah Zhang have never lost a Seven Sisters title. The Blue Pride appear ready to defend their Seven Sisters crown.

2015-2016 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 13-8

Final Ranking: 24

Team Championships: 8th in the Walker Cup (C Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 1 of 1… Top 3 Win%: .603… Middle 3 Win%: .778… Lower 3 Win%: .452…


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Wendy Berry

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Sarah Zhang (2018 – Seven Sisters All-Tournament Team);  3. Meera Nayar (2017 – Seven Sisters All-Tournament Team);  4. Rhea Advani (2017); 6. Haley Connor (2018); 9. Ruby Feng (2017 – CSA Scholar Athlete); 10. Meredith Curry (2018); 11. Lumi Kinjo (2019); Audrey Fok (2018);

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 2. Phyllis Lin (2018 – Seven Sisters All-Tournament Team); 5. Gabriella Wynne (2016); 7. Navisha Gupta (2017); 8. Kate Loftus (2016 – WCSA Wetzel Award; CSA Scholar Athlete);

Additions to the 2016-2017 Roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 3: Eva Mullarkey (2020)

Captains: Rhea Advani, Meera Nayar, and Sarah Zhang

Team Goals: To remain in the Walker Cup and retain the Seven Sisters title

Key Matches: Mount Holyoke, Conn College, Tufts, and William Smith

To read other team previews, please visit the 2016-2017 College Squash Season Previews page.