HomeArticlesHarrow Sports College Squash Players of the 2016 Women's National Team Championship

Harrow Sports College Squash Players of the 2016 Women’s National Team Championship


New Haven, CT — The 2016 Women’s College Squash Association National Team Championships had great team and individual performances. In this special edition of the Harrow Sports College Squash Player of the Week, we recognize a player from each division of the tournament. 

Howe Cup (A Division) – Grace Van Arkel (University of Pennsylvania): Penn junior Grace Van Arkel made the 2016 Howe Cup final a much different match than it might have been. In the opening round, Van Arkel, Penn’s #9, was 0-2 down against Harvard’s Sophie Mehta. She battled back to win the match in five games (10-12, 3-11, 11-8, 11-6, and 11-4), which gave the Quakers a 2-1 match lead. Although Harvard went on to win the team match, the outcome was in doubt until late in the third wave of matches thanks to Van Arkel’s victory.

Kurtz Cup (B Division) – Rebecca Brownell (Dartmouth College): If Kurtz Cup play is any indication, Dartmouth’s #3 Rebecca Brownell really likes to play long matches. After all, she played two five-game matches in the event. In the semifinals she defeated Williams’ Nicole Feshbach (11-7, 11-9, 6-11, 7-11, and 11-5), and in the finals she defeated Drexel’s Mary Fung-A-Fat (8-11, 11-8, 7-11, 11-8, and 11-8). Her victory was crucial in Dartmouth’s 5-4 victory over Drexel to claim the Kurtz Cup.

Walker Cup (C Division) – Lauren Williams (Bates College): In the two regular season meetings between Amherst and Bates, Amherst, the two-time defending Walker Cup champions, won 7-2 both times. When the two teams met in the Walker Cup final, Bates kept the match close going into the final round. Tri-captain and senior Lauren Williams faced Amherst’s Ericka Robertson at the match at the #4 position. Williams earned a four-game victory (8-11, 14-12, 11-6, and 11-4) that helped the Bobcats claim the Walker Cup.

Epps Cup (D Division – Bridget Doherty (Wesleyan University): Wesleyan’s senior co-captain Bridget Doherty helped the Cardinals capture the 2016 Epps Cup. In the opening round of matches, Doherty defeated Dickinson’s Stuart Lemay in three games (11-1, 11-6, and 11-5). In the tournament, she also earned victories over Vassar’s Jiamin Wu and William Smith’s Madison Bradley.

E Division – Libby Scattergood (Georgetown University): Going into the final flight of matches to decide the 2016 E Division crown, Georgetown held a 4-2 lead over Bucknell. At the #4 position, Georgetown’s Libby Scattergood faced Bucknell’s Sarah Antonacci. After trading games, Scattergood won the final two games (11-7, 9-11, 11-8, and 11-5) to clinch the title for the Hoyas.