HomeArticles2016 Women's National Team Championships: Epps Cup Final

2016 Women’s National Team Championships: Epps Cup Final

New Haven, CT — Wesleyan University upset Dickinson College to win the 2016 Epps Cup (D Division).

Today’s match was the first time the two teams had ever played each other. Dickinson won the E Division last year, in their first trip to the Women’s National Team Championships. A year ago, Wesleyan reached the consolation final of the Walker Cup (C Division), though the match was cancelled due to severe winter weather.

In the first round of matches, Wesleyan took the first match of the final, a three-game win at number 9. The Cardinals roared out to a two-game lead at number 6, but Dickinson came back to win games three and four. Wesleyan came back to win 11-1 in the fifth. A three-game win at number 3 completed a Wesleyan sweep of the first flight.

Dickinson posted a win early in the second round, a four-game victory at number 8. Another win at number 2 helped the Red Devils chip away at Wesleyan’s lead. Wesleyan responded with a four-game win at number 5, coming within a match of the title. A fast three-game match at number 1 gave the Cardinals the win they needed, and with that, Wesleyan had won the Epps Cup.

Each team won one more match to round out the event. The final score was Wesleyan 6, Dickinson 3.

This is Wesleyan’s third Epps Cup victory, and their first division title since they won the D Division in 2002.