HomeArticles2016 Men's College Squash Award Nominations

2016 Men’s College Squash Award Nominations

College Squash Association

Hatfield, MA — Each season, the Men’s College Squash Association presents awards at the National Team Championships. Nominations for the awards are being conducted online.

Below is a summary of each award. A nomination form has been e-mailed to coaches and team contacts.

Award Summaries

Skillman Award (Senior Sportsmanship): The Skillman Award is given annually to a senior men’s squash player who has demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship during his entire college career. The candidate shall be evaluated in the following areas: on-court poise and demeanor; skill level and ability in the game of squash; team play; contributions to intercollegiate squash; leadership; and cooperation with players, coaches, and tournament officials.

Each coach is invited to nominate a player. The Executive Administrator solicits nominations by emailing the selection criteria to each coach. Coaches should respond to the email with nominations and any supporting material, which should not exceed three paragraphs in length. Each season, the nominations close by February 1st and the Award Chair and the Executive Committee then selects no more than three candidates for the award.

Notification of these candidates and a summary of each nominee’s accomplishments are posted on the CSA website. The Award Chair and the Executive Committee select the winner.

Last season, Columbia’s Ramit Tandon was presented with the Skillman Award.

Barnaby Award (Most Improved Team): The Barnaby Award is given annually to the men’s team showing the most improvement from the previous season’s record. Any coach can nominate a team for this award, and coaches can also nominate their own teams. Nominations are due by February 10th.

Last season, Columbia was presented with the Barnaby Award.

Sloane Award (Team Sportsmanship): The Sloane Award is given annually to the team that, as judged by their peers, best exemplified the ideals of sportsmanship throughout the season. Nominations are due by February 10th.

Last season, Franklin & Marshall and Williams were presented with the Sloane Award.

Lifetime Achievement Award and Hall of Fame

For Lifetime Achievement Award and Hall of Fame Nominations, please e-mail the Executive Administrator.

Lifetime Achievement Award: This award recognizes those rare individuals who have contributed throughout their career to college squash as a whole and who have dedicated a career to the sport. This award is not presented annually, but rather only when it is truly merited. Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award must be submitted by February 1st.

Hall of Fame: Induction into the College Squash Hall of Fame is an honor reserved for the top players and coaches at the collegiate level.

  • Players: Hall of Fame awards are given for overall excellence exhibited during an individual’s college career, usually (but not necessarily) including at least one win of the collegiate individual championships. Inductees also usually have continuing presence in and commitment to squash following their college career. Players must be ten years beyond graduation to be considered.
  • Coaches: Hall of Fame awards are given to coaches who have left a signature imprint on the college game and who usually coached at least ten years. The award is typically given after individuals retire from coaching.
  • Friends of College Squash: Hall of Fame awards are given to individuals who have made a significant impact on the college game as promoters, sponsors, or in other roles.

Nominations for the Hall of Fame must be submitted by February 1st.