HomeArticles2014-2015 Dunlop Women’s College Squash Team Rankings (2/1/2015)

2014-2015 Dunlop Women’s College Squash Team Rankings (2/1/2015)

[rankingimage] Northampton, MA — Today, the ninth [wtr] of the season were released.

After Princeton’s 5-4 victory over Yale, the two teams switch positions in this week’s rankings. Princeton moves to 4th, while Yale moves to 5th.

Columbia’s victory over Dartmouth created a ranking triangle between Columbia, Dartmouth, and George Washington. This season, Columbia defeated Dartmouth, 6-3; Dartmouth defeated George Washington, 5-4; and George Washington defeated Columbia, 5-4. According to the CSA ranking rules, in this situation, the individual matches won are used to break the tie: Columbia won 10 individual matches, George Washington won 9, and Dartmouth won 8. Columbia assumes the 7th position, followed by George Washington and then Dartmouth.

Similarly, there was a ranking triangle between Conn College, Mount Holyoke, and Tufts for the 26th-28th positions. The three teams all tied with 9 individual victories apiece, so the more recent matches were used to break the tie. Since Tufts defeated Conn College 6-3 on Sunday and Conn College defeated Mount Holyoke last Wednesday, Tufts was awarded the 26th position, followed by Conn College, and Mount Holyoke.

After going 1-1 in two matches with Northwestern on Saturday, Washington in St. Louis moves up to 40th.

Teams are reminded that to qualify for the National Team Championships, they must meet minimum match requirements:

  • Varsity teams are required to play ten (10) matches against other CSA teams to enter team championships. At minimum, each team should have at least 6 different opponents. Varsity teams should play the majority of their matches against other varsity schools.
  • Club teams are required to play eight (8) matches against other CSA teams to enter team championships in a 9 player division. In addition, club teams must play at least four (4) matches between January 1st and February 10th. At minimum, each team should have at least five (5) different opponents.

For a regular season match to officially count for ranking purposes, each team must have at least seven players. Except for Emerging Teams, matches with less than seven players per team will not count towards the required number of matches for entry into the National Team Championships.

Below are the [wtr] as of February 1, 2015. Listed after each school’s name is their previous ranking.

  1. Trinity College (1)
  2. Pennsylvania, University of (2)
  3. Harvard University (3)
  4. Princeton University (5)
  5. Yale University (4)
  6. Cornell University (6)
  7. Columbia University (9)
  8. George Washington University (8)
  9. Dartmouth College (7)
  10. Stanford University (10)
  11. Brown University (11)
  12. Williams College (12)
  13. Middlebury College (13)
  14. Franklin and Marshall College (14)
  15. Drexel University (15)
  16. Bates College (16)
  17. Amherst College (17)
  18. Hamilton College (18)
  19. Bowdoin College (19)
  20. St. Lawrence University (20)
  21. Colby College (21)
  22. Wesleyan University (22)
  23. Virginia, University of (23)
  24. Wellesley College (24)
  25. William Smith College (25)
  26. Tufts University (28)
  27. Connecticut College (27)
  28. Mount Holyoke College (26)
  29. Boston College (29)
  30. Georgetown University (30)
  31. Johns Hopkins University (31)
  32. Haverford College (32)
  33. Vassar College (33)
  34. Dickinson College (34)
  35. Bucknell University (35)
  36. Smith College (36)
  37. Rochester, University of (37)*
  38. New York University (38)
  39. Northwestern University (39)
  40. Washington University in St. Louis (43)
  41. Northeastern University (40)
  42. Colgate University (41)
  43. Fordham University (42)*
  44. Minnesota, University of (44)
  45. Notre Dame, University of (45)*

* =  Not competing at Team Championships

More CSA News