Wesleyan: 2014 – 2015 Men’s College Squash Season Preview


Wesleyan UniversityMiddletown, CT — After finishing third in last season’s Summers Cup (C Division), Wesleyan would like to move up in the rankings and either win this season’s Summers Cup or earn a spot in the Hoehn Cup (B Division). The team will need to replace three veterans who graduated, including John Steele, a 2014 Skillman Award nominee, who spent four seasons at the top of the Wesleyan lineup. The team is planning a training and volunteering trip to San Diego during the semester break. According to head coach Shona Kerr, “As with every season, we will be working to fulfill each individual’s potential and to unify as a team to perform at our very best at critical moments.” Last season, the bottom 3 in the ladder won 80% of their matches, while the top 3 and middle 3 won 62% and 52%, respectively. As more of the Cardinals’ deep ladder from last season moves into the starting rotation, look for the team’s tough challenge matches to prepare the squad for official matches. The team is focused on the Little Three Championship with Amherst and Williams, as well as matches with Bowdoin, Brown, and Middlebury.  Captaining the team will be Cam Rahbar, Guy Davidson, and Mike Delalio. Cam Rahbar “is one of the most emotionally intuitive members of the team. His leadership, compassion and ability to think critically through all situations is second to none. He is one of the most committed members of the team and does this from the lower end of the ladder,” states Kerr. Rabhar, Davidson, and Delalio’s leadership will be critical for the Cardinals to jump to the Hoehn Cup.

2013-2014 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 14-7

Final Ranking: 19

Team Championships: 3rd in the Summers Cup

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 3 of 5 … Position with the Most Wins: #8s had 17 Wins


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Shona Kerr

Returning Players from Team Championships: 2. Guy Davidson (2016 – NESCAC Second Team All-Conference); 3. Michael Delalio (2015 – NESCAC All-Academic); 4. Daniel Sneed (2015); 5. Raheem Logan (2016); 7. Christopher Hart (2017); 9. Alex Kamisher (2017);  11. Grant Lounsbury (2017); Zach Roach (2017), Jason Brandner (2016), David Sneed (2017); Cam Rahbar (2015); Blair Corbin (2015)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. John Steele (2014 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC First Team All-Conference, NESCAC All-Academic, NESCAC All-Sportsmanship); 6. Ethan Moritz (2014 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 8. Zander Nassikas (2014 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 10. Johnny Bebbington (2016, studying abroad – NESCAC All-Academic)

Additions to the 2014-2015 Roster: None

Captains: Cam Rahbar, Guy Davidson, and Mike Delalio

Team Goals: To win the C division or earn a place in the B division

Key Matches: Amherst, Williams, Brown, Middlebury, and Bowdoin

To read other team previews, please visit the 2014-2015 College Squash Season Previews page.