Wesleyan: 2014 – 2015 Women’s College Squash Season Preview


Wesleyan UniversityMiddletown, CT — Wesleyan University concluded last season as the 21st-ranked team in the nation. This season, they want to move up to the Kurtz Cup (B Division). Although the team will need to replace four 2014 graduates, they are expecting three talented first year students, including expected #1 Laila Samy. Samy surprised many in the squash world when she chose Wesleyan. According to head coach Shona Kerr, “We have a very good number 1 player [Samy] who chose Wesleyan because of the school and not the level of the squash program. This team is only going to be better for it and I hope opens the door for other serious players to make the same decision.” Helping the first-year players adapt to the veteran squad will be Lauren Nelson, the second-year captain. Nelson, often referred to as “the Doctor,” is a premed major and has been near the top of the Cardinals’ line-up throughout her career. The Cardinals are focused on leap-frogging several NESCAC opponents. According to Kerr, “We’d like to finish in the top half of NESCAC schools this year.” This includes a goal of defeating Little Three opponent Amherst. The Cardinals will continue their tradition of a winter training trip. This season, they are headed to San Diego, where they will also volunteer at the Access Youth Academy.  Don’t be surprised as Wesleyan moves up the rankings.

2013-2014 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 11-9

Final Ranking: 21

Team Championships: 5th in the Walker Cup (C Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 1 of 4… Position with the Most Wins: #9s had 16 Wins…


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Shona Kerr

Returning Players from Team Championships: 2. Annie Maxwell (2015 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 3. Lauren Nelson (2015 – NESCAC All-Academic, Second Team All-NESCAC); 4. Liza Bayless (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic); 6. Claire Miller (2015 – NESCAC All-Academic); 9. Bridget Doherty (2016); 10. Abigail Smith (2017); 11. Annie Ferreira (2017)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Mary Foster (2014 – CSA Scholar Athlete, First Team All-NESCAC, NESCAC All-Academic, NESCAC All-Sportsmanship); 5. Nell Schwed (2014 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 7. Miranda Linsky (2014 – NESCAC All-Academic); 8. Hannah Plon (2014 – NESCAC All-Academic)

Additions to the 2014-2015 Roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 3: Laila Samy (2018)
  • Other additions: Tatum LeClair (2018); and Ashley Suan (2018); Cristina Ortiz (2015, returning from abroad); and Hannah Jenkins (2015, returning from abroad)

Captain: Lauren Nelson

Team Goals: To be ranked in the top 16 nationally

Key Matches: Amherst and Williams

To read other team previews, please visit the 2014-2015 College Squash Season Previews page.