HomeArticlesWilliams: 2014 – 2015 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Williams: 2014 – 2015 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Williams CollegeWilliamstown, MA — Williams wants to return to a ranking position in the top 10.  Last year, the fall semester was the challenge for the Ephs. They went 3-7 prior to the semester break, which included 6 losses against teams that finished the season within the top 12. Williams will need to replace three 2014 graduates, including Taylor Foehl, the winner of the inaugural DIII individual invitational tournament. The team has two recruits coming in, as well as a number of players waiting for their opportunity to enter the starting 9. Once again, head coach Zafi Levy will use his experience coaching with professional players with his team. He states that “although we are not professional squash players at Williams, we still try to train like professionals.” With four members of last year’s championship roster being seniors, the experience from last year should strengthen the team. Senior Kevin Chen will return for his third season at the top of the Ephs’ line-up. The bottom of Williams’ ladder was a point of strength last season. Positions 9 and 8 led the team with 18 and 17 individual victories, respectively.  To move higher in the Hoehn Cup, the Ephs will need to build on last year’s experiences.

2013-2014 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 13-14

Final Ranking: 14

Team Championships: 6th in the Hoehn Cup

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 2 of 3 … Position with the Most Wins: #9s had 18 Wins


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Zafi Levy

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Kevin Chen (2015 – NESCAC First Team All-Conference); 2. Jamie Ruggiero (2017 – NESCAC Second Team All-Conference); 4. Chris Willkinson (2015 – NESCAC All-Academic); 6. Kai Graham (2015 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 7. Galen Squires (2016); 8. Varun Sharma (2016); 10. Nick Greaves-Tunnell (2015 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 11. Rohan Paranjpe (2016)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 3. Taylor Foehl (2014 – NESCAC First Team All-Conference, NESCAC All-Sportsmanship); 5. Andy Maruca (2014); 9. Ryan Eagan (2014 – NESCAC All-Academic)

Additions to the 2014-2015 Roster: Michael Petrick and John Shuck

Captains: Nick Greaves-Tunnell and Chris Willkinson

Team Goals: Top 10 finish

Key Matches: Bates, Middlebury, Brown, Dartmouth, and Drexel

To read other team previews, please visit the 2014-2015 College Squash Season Previews page.