HomeArticlesConn College: 2014 – 2015 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Conn College: 2014 – 2015 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Connecticut CollegeNew London, CT — After winning the 2014 Conroy Cup (D Division), Conn College intends to move up the rankings. The team will return the top and bottom of its line-up from last season’s team championships; however, filling the vacant positions will be helped by the addition of four new players. The team has experienced leadership in its tri-captains, especially senior Mike Coscarelli. According to head coach Barry Ward, Coscarelli “has been single minded in his competitive leadership of the players since his first season, showing them the way. It will be an enjoyable year for him as the Senior Captain, pushing all the players to excel and himself in the process.” The Camels’ courts have been sanded, which Ward jokes “should give us a grip on things this season.” The team is also planning a winter training trip, perhaps to Grand Cayman. The winter trip should help prepare Conn College for critical matches with NESCAC opponents.

2013-2014 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 14-11

Final Ranking: 25

Team Championships: 1st in the Conroy Cup

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 2 of 3 … Position with the Most Wins: #8s had 20 Wins.


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Barry Ward

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Brian Mullen (2015 – NESCAC All-Academic); 2. Mike Coscarelli (2015 – NESCAC All-Academic); 7. Nico Premutico (2016); 8. Randy Coplin (2015); 10. Matt Lillie (2017); 11. Santiago Moran (2016)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 3. John Sluder (2014 – NESCAC All-Academic, NESCAC All-Sportsmanship); 4. Robert Bolling (2014); 5. Justin Curtis (2014); 6. Sam Gevirtz (2014 – NESCAC All-Academic); 9. Ben Thaler (2014); Pete Flynn (2014)

Additions to the 2014-2015 Roster:

  • Will Rogers (Friends School – Baltimore, MD)
  • John Dunham (The Hotchkiss School – Lakeville, CT)
  • Daniel Reisman (Laguna Blanca School – Santa Barbara, CA)
  • Otto Bunjapamai (transfer from Indiana University)
  • Alex Apkin (Connecticut College)
  • Clay Lenahan (Connecticut College)

Captains: Mike Coscarelli, Nico Premutico and Brendan McClintick

Team Goals: To compete well and make it to the C Division.

Key Matches: Colby, Hamilton and Hobart

To read other team previews, please visit the 2014-2015 College Squash Season Previews page.