HomeArticles2014 Liberty League Men's College Squash Awards Announced

2014 Liberty League Men’s College Squash Awards Announced

Liberty LeagueTroy, NY — In March, the Liberty League announced its men’s college squash award winners.

St. Lawrence captured the Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, and Coaching Staff of the Year honors. Amr Khaled Khalifa, a sophomore at St. Lawrence, won his second consecutive Player of the Year honor. He finished the season ranked second in the nation, losing the Pool Trophy (individual championship) final to Harvard’s Ali Farag.

Rookie of the Year honors went to St. Lawrence’s Moustafa Bayoumy. He was a perfect 15-0 during the regular season. Bayoumy made it to the semifinals of the Pool Trophy. Like Khalifa, Bayoumy was named to the CSA First Team All-American.

Coaching Staff of the Year honors went to the St. Lawrence University leadership team: head coach Chris Abplanalp and assistant coach Pamela Jimenez Larromana. The Saints captured the 2013 – 2014 Liberty League title, their first since the 2006 -2007 season. Abplanalp guided the Saints to a season ending ranking of 5th, the highest finish in program history.

Only one senior earned All-League honors: Vir Seth (St. Lawrence). St. Lawrence had four All-Liberty League players, while Rochester had three, and Hobart had two.

Player of the Year

  • Amr Khaled Khalifa (St. Lawrence)

Rookie of the Year

  • Moustafa Bayoumy (St. Lawrence)

Coaching Staff of the Year

2014 All-League Team

Honorable Mention

Please note that the Liberty League does not have a women’s squash division and does not name a women’s college squash all-conference team.