2014 Individual Championships: Day 2 Evening Report


Philadelphia, PA — Amanda Sobhy and Kanzy El Defrawy will play for the Ramsay Cup, and Ali Farag and Amr Khaled Khalifa will play for the Pool Trophy.

Former Princeton head coach Bob Callahan was inducted into the Men’s College Squash Hall of Fame at a special awards ceremony this evening. Callahan was also presented with the MCSA’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ramsay Cup (Women’s A Division): Amanda Sobhy of Harvard remained unbeaten this season by defeating Anaka Alankamony of Penn  3-0 in the Ramsay Cup semifinals. The two-time defending national champion won both the first and second games by a score of 11-5, and then she won the third by an even more decisive 11-2. The Ramsay Cup final will be a rematch of last year’s championship match, as Sobhy will again face Trinity’s Kanzy El Defrawy. In the semifinals, El Defrawy played Yale’s Millie Tomlinson, the 2011 Ramsay Cup winner. El Defrawy won the first game 13-11, and Tomlinson answered with a 13-11 win in the second game. El Defrawy took the next two games 11-6, 11-6, earning another shot at the individual title. Sobhy and El Defrawy have played twice this season, and Sobhy has won 3-0 each time.

Holleran Cup (Women’s B Division): Penn teammates Leslie Gill and Chloe Blacker will play in one semifinal tomorrow. Blacker advanced with a three-game win over St. Lawrence’s Jillian Baker, and Gill advanced earlier in the afternoon. Yale’s Shiyuan Mao won tight three-game match over teammate Annie Ballaine to move into the other semifinal. Mao will face Cornell’s Rachel Scherman, who outlasted Zandra Ho of Stanford in five games.

Pool Trophy (Men’s A Division): It will be a match-up of two former individual champions in tomorrow’s Pool Trophy final. Ali Farag of Harvard, the 2012 individual champion and this year’s Skillman Award winner, will play Amr Khaled Khalifa of St. Lawrence, the 2013 individual champion. Farag punched his ticket to the final by defeating Moustafa Bayoumy of St. Lawrence by a score of 11-9, 11-3, 11-5. Khalifa earned a chance to defend his title with a 11-7, 11-9, 11-5 win over Ramit Tandon of Columbia. Khalifa and Farag played a thrilling five-game match in last year’s Pool Trophy semifinals, with Khalifa edging out Farag in the fifth. This season, Farag defeated Khalifa in three games when Harvard hosted St. Lawrence in late January.

Molloy Cup (Men’s B Division): Michael  Thompson of Drexel turned in his second five-game match of the day, defeating John Steele of Wesleyan. Brown’s Blake Reinson also played his second five-gamer, outlasting St. Lawrence’s Chris Fernandez. In tomorrow’s semifinals, Thompson will play Drexel teammate Justin Singh, who advanced in four over Fletcher Pease of Dartmouth. Reinson will play Cornell’s Rishi Jalan, who defeated St. Lawrence’s Anderson Good in four games.