HomeArticlesSt. Lawrence: 2013 – 2014 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

St. Lawrence: 2013 – 2014 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

St. Lawrence University Canton, NY — St. Lawrence had a breakthrough 2012-2013 season. The Saints broke into the A Division and finished sixth in the nation, a program best finish, and Amr Khaled Khalifa won the men’s individual national title. All this may only be the beginning for St. Lawrence. “Having not graduated anyone in our top 9 from last season, and with the addition of some solid first-year student-athletes, we are hoping to improve on our ranking,” says head coach Chris Abplanalp. The new first-year players are Moustafa Bayoumy, who is expected to play in the top 3; Mateo Vargas and Nick Schreiber, who are also expected to play in the top 9; and Kingsley Amoako and Michael Edson. Pamela Larromana, who joined the program last January, will also be back as an assistant coach. The Saints’ run at nationals last year caught the attention of some of the more established A Division teams, and this season they will have some new matches on their schedule.  One of their biggest tests, however, will come early in the year, when they take on Rochester in the Liberty League Championships.

2012-2013 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 11-6

Final Ranking: 6

Team Championships: 6th in the Potter Cup


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Chris Abplanalp

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Amr Khaled Khalifa (2016 – Pool Trophy Winner; First Team All-American; All-Liberty League Team; Liberty League Player of the Year; Liberty League Rookie of the Year); 2. Ibrahim Khan (2015 – All-Liberty League Team); 3. Sebastian Riedelsheimer (2015 – All-Liberty League Team); 4. Kyle Ogilvy (2015 – All-Liberty League Team; Liberty League All-Academic); 5. Anderson Good (2015); 6. Will Campo (2014 – Liberty League All-Academic); 7. Chris Fernandez (2015 – Libery League Honorable Mention); 8. Vir Seth (2014 – Libery League Honorable Mention); 9. Duncan Maxwell (2015 – Libery League Honorable Mention); 11. Bart Mackey (2016)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from 2012-2013 Team Championships: 10. Amay Merchant (2013 – Scholar Athlete; Liberty League All-Academic)

Additions to the 2013-2014 Roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 3: Moustafa Bayoumy
  • Expected to play in the bottom 3: Nick Schreiber and Mateo Vargas
  • Other addition: Kingsley Amoako and Michael Edson

Captains: Vir Seth and Duncan Maxwell

Team Goals: Continue to improve on our ranking and compete with top teams in the country.

Key Matches: Cornell, F&M, Rochester, Trinity, and Yale

To read other team previews, please visit the 2013-2014 College Squash Season Previews page.