HomeArticles2013 NESCAC Men's College Squash All-Conference Team Announced

2013 NESCAC Men’s College Squash All-Conference Team Announced

Hadley, MA — Earlier this spring, the New England Small College Athletic Conference announced its 2012-2013 All-Conference men’s squash team.

First-year player Ahmed Abdel Khalek of Bates earned dual distinctions: he was named both Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year. Abdel Khalek had an impressive debut season. Playing number 1 for the Bobcats, he lost only one match in team competition, falling to 2012 Individual Champion Ali Farag of Harvard in four competitive games. He won the majority of his matches in three games, helping the Bobcats to a 13th-place finish at the 2013 Men’s National Team Championships. At the 2013 Individual Championships, he knocked out 2012 finalist Ramit Tandon in the quarterfinals before falling 0-3 to Princeton senior Todd Harrity in the semifinals. Abdel Khalek earned First Team NESCAC All-Conference honors as well.

Seniors Jay Dolan of Middlebury, Johan Detter of Trinity, Caleb Garza of Connecticut College, Andrew Hillboldt of Bowdoin, and Nick Marks of Williams all capped their final year of collegiate play with All-Conference honors. Dolan, Hillboldt, and Marks were all named to the First Team, while Detter and Garza were named to the Second Team. Dolan earned All Conference honors in all four of his years with Middlebury.

Trinity head coach Paul Assaiante was named the Coach of the Year. Assaiante guided the Bantams to their seventh consecutive NESCAC title and their fourteenth national title at the 2013 Men’s National Team Championships.

Player of the Year

  • Ahmed Abdel Khalek (Bates)

Rookie of the Year

  • Ahmed Abdel Khalek (Bates)

Coach of the Year

First Team All-Conference

Second Team All-Conference