2013 Men’s College Squash Skillman Award Finalists


Northampton, MA — Johan Detter of Trinity, Chris Hanson of Dartmouth, and Todd Harrity of Princeton have been named the three finalists for the 2013 Skillman Award.

The Skillman Award is given annually to a senior men’s squash player who has demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship during his entire college career. This award is named for former Yale coach John Skillman, who led the Bulldogs to multiple national titles in over 40 years leading the team.

Coaches are invited to nominate players, and the Award Chair and Executive Committee select no more than three finalists for the award. Players are evaluated based on their on-court poise and demeanor, skill level and ability in the game of squash, team play, contributions to intercollegiate squash, leadership, and cooperation with players, coaches, and tournament officials. The Award Chair and the Executive Committee select the winner at the National Team Championships.

Benjamin Fischer of Rochester won the 2012 Skillman Award. Here are this year’s finalists, listed alphabetically:

Johan Detter (Trinity): In 2012, Detter earned Honorable Mention All-American and 2nd Team All-NESCAC honors. With Trinity, he has won two Men’s National Team Championships, and he was one of four Trinity players to post wins during the Bantams’ 2012 finals loss to Princeton. He was named a CSA Scholar Athlete last season and is a two-time NESCAC All-Academic honoree. He is one of the Bantams’ senior co-captains this season.

Chris Hanson (Dartmouth): Hanson is a three-time First Team All-American and a three-time All-Ivy selection. He has played number 1 for the Big Green throughout his four years and for the past three  years has finished each season with the team’s best individual record. He is also one of Dartmouth’s senior co-captains. In addition to his contributions to Dartmouth squash, he has put his athletic talents to use for the benefits of others, running “Miles for Mom,” a fundraiser he and his roommate created to raise money for breast cancer research.

Todd Harrity (Princeton): A three-time First Team All-American and a three-time All-Ivy selection, Harrity won the 2011 Individual Championship. He also reached the Individual Championship finals in 2010. He was named the Ivy League of Rookie of the Year in 2010 and the Ivy League Player of the Year in 2011. In 2012, he contributed a win in Princeton’s 5-4  upset of Trinity College, helping the Tigers claim the national title. He has played number 1 for Princeton throughout his collegiate career and this season is one of the Tigers’ co-captains. In addition to his team and singles titles, he won the intercollegiate doubles title with Taylor Tutrone this season.