HomeArticles2013 Women's Award Winners Announced

2013 Women’s Award Winners Announced

New Haven, CT — The winners of the 2013 Richey, Wetzel, Chaffee, and Most Improved Team Awards were announced on the last day of the Women’s National Team Championships, which were held over the weekend at Yale’s Brady Squash Center.

Richey Award: The Richey Award is given annually to the women’s college squash player who best exemplifies the ideals of squash in her love of and devotion to the game, her strong sense of fairness, and her excellence of play and leadership. The 2013 Richey Award was presented to Pamela Chua of Stanford.

Wetzel Award: The Wetzel Award is presented annually to a senior who began playing squash in college and has progressed to a high level of skill, demonstrates sound understanding of the game, and exhibits good sportsmanship and a positive demeanor on the court. The 2013 Wetzel Award was presented to Kathryn Brummer of Mount Holyoke College.

Chaffee Award: The Chaffee Award is given annually to a coach whose team has demonstrated the qualities of sportsmanship, teamwork, character, and improvement. The 2013 Chaffee Award was presented to Stanford University and head coach Mark Talbott

Most Improved Team Award: The Most Improved Team Award is based on both the number of spots a team has improved in the rankings as well as the strength of the opponents they have surpassed. The 2013 Most Improved Team Award was presented to Drexel University and head coach John White.

CollegeSquashAssociation.com will have more in-depth coverage of the awards after the championship season concludes.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2013 Women’s College Squash Association annual awards!