2012 Individual College Squash Championships: B Division and Consolation Winners


College Squash AssociationAmherst, MA — With the final matches at the Individual Championships completed, the 2011-2012 college squash season is officially over.  Shihui Mao of Yale and Vishrab Kotian of Trinity won the women’s and men’s B Division titles, respectively.

Holleran Cup (Women’s B Division): The women’s B Division final ended with a marathon contest between Yale first-year Shihui Mao and Trinity junior Robyn Hodgson. Hodgson won the first game in tie-breakers 12-10, but Mao came back to win the second 11-4. The two players traded games again, with Hodgson winning the third 11-7 and Mao winning the fourth 11-7 as well. Mao took control of the fifth and final game, winning the Holleran Cup 11-5 in the fifth.

Molloy Cup (Men’s B Division): The men’s B Division final saw another match-up between a first-year player, Vrishab Kotian of Trinity, and a junior, Omar Sobhy of George Washington. Sobhy was the 2011 Molloy Cup champion. Kotian took charge from the opening game, winning 11-4. The second and third games were more competitive, going to 11-7 and then 11-8. The Trinity freshman leaves his first individual championship the winner of the B Division.

Consolation Winners: In the women’s A Division, Yarden Odinak of Penn defeated Trinity senior Alicia Rodriguez Acosta in three to win the first round consolation final. Catalina Pelaez of Trinity defeated Haley Mendez of Harvard in three close games to win the second-round consolation.

In the men’s A Division, Princeton senior Chris Callis capped his collegiate career with a three-game win over Dartmouth senior Nick Sisodia in the first round consolation final. Rochester’s Beni Fischer, the 2012 Skillman Award winner, went out on a high note as well by defeating Miled Zarazua of Trinity 3-1 in the second round consolation final.

In the women’s B Division, Trinity senior Andrea Echeverria concluded her college career with a victory, defeating Amherst senior Kate Savage 3-0 in the first round consolation final. Jackie Shea (George Washington) defeated Rachel Au (Cornell) in four to win the second round consolation final.

In the men’s B Division, Connecticut College’s Caleb Garza defeated senior Barrett Takesian of Bowdoin in four to win the first round consolation final. Tom Mullaney of Harvard won the second round consolation final in three very close games, defeating Hunter Abrams of Navy.