HomeArticlesYale: 2011 - 2012 Women's College Squash Season Preview

Yale: 2011 – 2012 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

New Haven, CT — A national title, a league championship, an undefeated season: Yale did it all last season, and they did it in the most dramatic fashion possible. Both the national and Ivy League title matches came down to the final match, and in both cases the Bulldogs emerged victorious.

This season, Yale is back for more, and the Bulldogs are looking to defend their titles. They will be without three key players from last season: Caroline Reigeluth, who won the deciding match for the Ivy championship; Sarah Toomey,  a former All-American who consistently turned in wins in the top 3; and Logan Greer, the Bulldogs’ number 1 player, who won the 2011 Richey Award as the top senior player in women’s college squash.

The team has an accomplished group of returning players, among them Millie Tomlinson, the defending individual champion. The three new players — Anne Harrison, Shihui Mao, and Isabella Norman-Ross — are all expected to play in the starting line-up.

Associate head coach Gareth Webber has moved on, but Yale is welcoming reigning Irish national champion John Rooney as assistant coach.

“We are a very hard working team that has a very comprehensive training program,” explains Pam Saunders, associate head coach. “We pride ourselves in maintaining a high level of training while still taking our academics very seriously.”

Season Record: 17-0 (Ivy League Champions, Barhite Award winners)

Final Ranking: 1

Team Championships: 1st in Howe Cup (A Division)


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: David Talbott

Returning Players from Team Championships: (2) Camilla Tomlinson (Ivy League Rookie of the Year, All-Ivy League Team, First Team All-American); (4) Kimberley Hay (Second Team All-American); (5) Rhetta Nadas; (6) Katherine Ballaine; (8) Gwendoline Tilghman; (9) Alexandra Van Arkel (CSA Scholar Athlete); (10) Lillian Fast; (11) Alexandra Kerr (CSA Scholar Athlete)

Graduated/Non-returning players from 2010-2011 Team: (1) Logan Greer (All-Ivy League Team, First Team All-American, Richey Award Winner); (3) Sarah Toomey (All-Ivy League Team, Academic All-Ivy League, CSA Scholar Athlete); (7) Caroline Reigeluth

Additions to the 2011-2012 roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 9: Anne Harrison, Shihui Mao, and Isabella Norman-Ross

Captain: Rhetta Nadas

Team Goals: To bring home the Ivy and National Championship titles, to turn players into the best that they can be, and to train hard and have fun.

Key Matches: All matches

To read other team previews, please visit the 2011-2012 College Squash Season Previews page.