HomeArticles2011 Liberty League All-Conference Men's Squash Team

2011 Liberty League All-Conference Men’s Squash Team

Northampton, MA — The Liberty League announced its 2011 All-Conference team in March.

Rochester sophomore Adam Perkiomaki was named the 2011 Liberty League Player of the Year. Perkiomaki completed the regular season with only one loss, compiling a 12-1 record playing against the top teams in the nation. He topped his regular season performance by going undefeated at the Men’s National Team Championships, defeating players from Trinity, Cornell, and Princeton.

Vir Seth of St. Lawrence was named the 2011 Liberty League Rookie of the Year. Playing primarily at number 3 for the Saints, Seth finished his first season of intercollegiate play with a 16-10 record. He reached the consolation finals in the Molloy Cup at the Individual Championships, and was named Liberty League Rookie of the Week seven times.

Rochester and St. Lawrence players dominated the All-Conference team. Joining Seth on the team were Alex Dodge and Amay Merchant, and Perkiomaki was in good company with teammates Hameed Ahmed, Joe Chapman, Andres Duany, Beni Fischer, and Will Newnham. Hobart’s Daniel Pelaez was the only player not from Rochester or Saint Lawrence to be an All-Conference selection.

Two of Pelaez’s teammates, Kevin Kent and Grant Palermo, received Honorable Mentions, along with Rochester’s Juan Pablo Gaviria.

St. Lawrence’s Chris Abplanalp was named the 2011 Liberty League Coach of the Year. Under Abplanalp, the Saints won the consolation finals of the Hoehn Cup (B Division) with a thrilling 5-4 victory over Middlebury. The team’s 13th-place finish in the national rankings was the highest in program history.

Congratulations to all who earned Liberty League honors!

Player of the Year: Adam Perkiomaki (Rochester)

Rookie of the Year: Vir Seth (St. Lawrence)

Coach of the Year: Chris Abplanalp (St. Lawrence)

2011 Liberty League First Team:

  • Hameed Ahmed (Rochester)
  • Joe Champman (Rochester)
  • Alex Dodge (St. Lawrence)
  • Andres Duany (Rochester)
  • Beni Fischer (Rochester)
  • Amay Merchant (St. Lawrence)
  • Will Newnham (Rochester)
  • Daniel Pelaez (Hobart)
  • Adam Perkiomaki (Rochester)
  • Vir Seth (St. Lawrence)

Honorable Mention: Juan Pablo Gaviria (Rochester), Kevin Kent (Hobart), and Grant Palermo (Hobart)

Please note: The Liberty League did not hold a 2010-2011 women’s squash championship and did not name a women’s all-conference team this year.