HomeArticles2009-2010 All-Ivy League Women's Squash Team Announced

2009-2010 All-Ivy League Women’s Squash Team Announced

Northampton, MA — Ivy League Sports has announced the 2009-2010 women’s All-Ivy team.

Harvard first-year Laura Gemmell earned both Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year honors. Gemmell went undefeated in her first year of intercollegiate play, finishing the season with a perfect 16-0 record. Playing at number 1 for the Crimson, she did not lose a game during the regular season, winning all her matches 3-0.

As dominant as her play was all season, Gemmell’s performance in the women’s individual championship finals showcased the depth of her talent. Trinity junior Pamela Hathway took Gemmell to five games, pushing the Toronto native harder than she had been in match play all season. The national title came down to the final points, with Gemmell pulling away at the very end to win the women’s individual championship.

Gemmell’s Ramsay Cup win was not her first national title of the season: she also helped lead the undefeated Crimson to their eleventh national team title. Her teammate, 2009 Ivy League Rookie of the Year Nirasha Gurgue, also earned All-Ivy honors this year.

Two seniors were named to the All-Ivy team: Penn’s Kristen Lange and Yale’s Alia Aziz. Lange, who earned All-Ivy honors in each of her four years of college play, was the 2009 Ivy League Player of the Year and the 2007 Rookie of the Year. Aziz, a first-time All-Ivy honoree, was the recipient of the 2010 Richey Award, one of the top honors in women’s college squash.

Two other Yale players, juniors Logan Greer and Sarah Toomey, were also named to the All-Ivy team, as the Bulldogs led the way with the most players earning league honors. Princeton had two players — junior Jackie Moss and first-year Julie Cerullo — on the team, and Dartmouth had one player, Valeria Wiens, the first player to earn All-Ivy honors for the Big Green in five years.

Congratulations to the members of the 2009-2010 All-Ivy League team!

  • Alia Aziz (Yale)
  • Julie Cerullo (Princeton)
  • Laura Gemmell (Harvard)
  • Logan Greer (Yale)
  • Nirasha Guruge (Harvard)
  • Kristen Lange (Penn)
  • Jackie Moss (Princeton)
  • Sarah Toomey (Yale)
  • Valeria Wiens (Dartmouth)

Player of the Year: Laura Gemmell (Harvard)

Rookie of the Year: Laura Gemmell (Harvard)