Dartmouth: 2009-2010 Men’s College Squash Season Preview


dartmouthHanover, NH — There’s been a changing of the guard at Dartmouth this year. Head coach John Power has retired after eleven years, and former assistant coach Hansi Wiens has taken over the team. Andrew Boumford, who played number 1 for most of his Dartmouth career, has graduated, as have fellow four-year starters Ted Newhouse and Tyler Young. With promising first-year players joining the team, the Big Green looks to move up in the A Division.

Michael Shrubb and Dan Wagman, two seniors returning from last year’s National Team Championships roster, will captain the team. The four members of the class of 2012 who joined the Big Green last year — Nick Sisodia, Brian O’Toole, Stephen Wetherill, and Luke Lee — will be back with a year of college play under their belts. Juniors Ted Schroeder and Mike Lewis, who plays squash with Dartmouth’s new college president, will also return.

Dartmouth’s lineup will have some new faces as well. Chris Hanson, who played at St. Luke’s and is currently ranked #2 U19 in the US, should compete with Sisodia for the top spot on the ladder. Four-time Caribbean squash champion Robbie Maycock of Bermuda is expected to play in the top five, and New Jersey’s Alex Kurth, who is ranked #10 U19, should play in the top 7. Milton grad John Nimmo, a walk-on, will compete for a spot at the bottom of the ladder, as will senior Samir Mehta and junior Stephen Preefer, who are both returning to the team.

Wiens has plans to hire a new assistant coach and restructure training sessions and Dartmouth’s program in general. The team — which is known to be very fond of the color green — is also planning a training trip to Mexico.

2008-2009 Season Recap

NATIONAL TEAM CHAMPIONSHIPS: 8th; 8th in Potter Cup (A Division)

2009-2010 Season Preview

Returning Players from Team Championships: Nick Sisodia ’12 (2); Brian O’Toole ’12 (4); Mike Lewis ’11 (5); Michael Shrubb ’10 (6); Stephen Wetherill ’12 (8); Luke Lee ’12 (9); Dan Wagman ’10 (10); Ted Schroeder ’11 (11)

Graduating Players from Team Championships: Andrew Boumford (1); Ted Newhouse (3); Tyler Young (7)

Additions to 2009-2010 Roster:

  • Expected to play in the top 2: Chris Hanson ’13 (St. Luke’s, ranked #2 U19)
  • Expected to play in the top 5: Robbie Maycock ’13 (Wycliffe College, Devonshire; Caribbean Squash Champion in ’02, ’04, ’06, and ’08)
  • Expected to play in the top 7: Alex Kurth ’13 (Tenafly, NJ; ranked #10 U19)
  • Expected to compete for spots at the bottom of the ladder: Samir Mehta ’10, Stephen Preefer ’11, John Nimmo ’13

Captains: Dan Wagman and Michael Shrubb

Team Goals: To improve their squash and try to finish the season in the top six

Key Matches: Harvard, Cornell, and Penn

To read other team previews, please visit the 2009 – 2010 College Squash Preview Page.