HomeArticlesNghiem and Chotrani Earn National Titles

Nghiem and Chotrani Earn National Titles

Harvard’s Saran Nghiem and Cornell’s Veer Chotrani earned the National Collegiate Women’s and Men’s Individual Championships, respectively, on Sunday afternoon at the Arlen Specter US Squash Center in Philadelphia. Nghiem overcame teammate Marina Stefanoni while Chotrani stopped defending champion Mohamed Sharaf of Trinity.

From the outset, it appeared that Stefanoni would take a relatively straight road to the championship taking the first 2 games. Nghiem responded well in Game 3 and Game 4 tying the score at 2-2. At 8-8 in Game 5, Nghiem forced the pressure on her teammate Stefanoni taking match ball 10-9 and ultimately winning the match. Nghiem, the 7th seed, pulled 3 upsets in a row to earn her first National title.

The men’s finalists jumped right into action following the women’s final. Chotrani and Sharaf showed great poise and control over the course of the 4 games. Sharaf won the first game with confidence, but Chotrani recovered well taking Game 2 and Game 3. Chotrani closed out the match in Game 4 11-8. This win is Chotrani’s first National title.

All finals results from the Holleran (women’s) and Molloy (men’s) Divisions are listed below, along with links to the full draws. Each winner of the Holleran and Molloy Divisions earns a selection to the All-America Second Team.

Winners (Main) by Division

Pool Trophy (A Division)
Veer Chotrani (Cornell)

Ramsay Cup (A Division)
Saran Nghiem (Harvard)

Molloy North
Syan Singh (Cornell)

Molloy South
Abdelrahman Nassar (Trinity)

Molloy East
Tad Carney (Yale)

Molloy West
Max Forster (Yale)

Holleran North 
Gigi Yeung (Yale)

Holleran South
Emma Trauber (Princeton)

Holleran East
Lucie Stefanoni (Harvard)

Holleran West
Lujan Palacios (Trinity)