HomeArticlesCSA Presents 2021-2022 All-America Selections

CSA Presents 2021-2022 All-America Selections

2022 Men’s First Team All-America honorees with at least three career First Team selections, plus the only two women this season who have earned multiple First Team awards: (l to r) Aly Abou El Einen (Penn), Marwan Tarek (Harvard), Hana Moataz (Harvard), Victor Crouin (Harvard), Andrew Douglas (Penn), Sivasangari Subramaniam (Cornell), Youssef Ibrahim (Princeton), and Velavan Senthilkumar (Columbia). (photos by Michael T. Bello)

The College Squash Association (CSA) announced the 2021-2022 All-America selections on Tuesday following an exciting culmination of the season. The players earning All-America status have excelled on court throughout both the regular season and the championships.

13 CSA member institutions placed student-athletes on the All-America teams between the men’s and women’s squads. Harvard University, the reigning team champions for both genders led the way in overall selections with seven – four women and three men. Perennial powerhouse Trinity College had six selections of their own, including four on the women’s side. Drexel University and Yale University, both coming off impressive seasons for both teams, added five selections apiece.

The men’s First Team is loaded with veterans, with every single member having earned an All-America selection in a prior season. One standout among an extremely talented group is Penn’s Andrew Douglas, who joins elite company by earning his fourth straight First Team All-America selection. The last four Pool Trophy finalists – Penn’s Aly Abou El Einen, Harvard’s Marwan Tarek and Victor Crouin, and Princeton’s Youssef Ibrahim – along with Columbia’s Velavan Senthilkumar, all garnered their third First Team award. Unlike the experienced First Team, the men’s Second Team included several new faces, including six first-time selections.

In contrast with the men’s First Team, both women’s teams featured many new names who will lead the college game in seasons to come. Individual Championship finalists Sivasangari Subramaniam of Cornell and Hana Moataz of Harvard returned for their third and second First Team honors, respectively, but seven of the remaining eight First-Teamers earned their first ever recognition. Similarly, seven Second Team honorees appeared on this awards list for the first time. Only Drexel’s Alina Bushma improved on a previous award, moving from Second Team in 2020 to First Team in 2022.

To view the CSA criteria for All-American status, please view it here.

Men’s All-Americans:

First Team
Miko Aijanen (Trinity College)
Aly Abou El Einen (University of Pennsylvania)
Veer Chotrani (Cornell University)
Victor Crouin (Harvard University)
Andrew Douglas (University of Pennsylvania)
Harrison Gill (Yale University)
Youssef Ibrahim (Princeton University)
Matias Knudsen (Drexel University)
Samuel Scherl (Harvard University)
Velavan Senthilkumar (Columbia University)
Marwan Tarek (Harvard University)

Second Team
Lewis Anderson (St. Lawrence University)
Omar El Torkey (University of Virginia)
Karim Elbarbary (Princeton University)
Aly Hussein (University of Virginia)
Nathan Tze Bing Kueh (University of Pennsylvania)
Haris Qasim (Drexel University)
Nadav Raziel (Yale University)
Lucas Rousselet (Drexel University)
Mohamed Sharaf (Trinity College)
Siow Yee Xian (Yale University)

Women’s All-Americans:

First Team
Meagan Best (University of Virginia)
Alina Bushma (Drexel University)
Malak Ashraf Kamal (Trinity College)
Wen Li Lai (Cornell University)
Hana Moataz (Harvard University)
Sneha Sivakumar (Yale University)
Marina Stefanoni (Harvard University)
Sivasangari Subramaniam (Cornell University)
Andrea Toth (Princeton University)
Amina Yousry (Harvard University)

Second Team
Habeeba Eldefrawy (Harvard University)
Andrea Lee (Colby College)
Sarahi Lopez (Trinity College)
Si Ma (Stanford University)
Elisabeth Ross (Yale University)
Elle Ruggiero (Princeton University)
Jana Safy (Trinity College)
Emma Supattapone (Dartmouth College)
Karina Tyma (Drexel University)
Nouran Youssef (Trinity College)

More CSA News