HomeArticlesBowdoin College Wins 2020 Women’s Most Improved Team Award

Bowdoin College Wins 2020 Women’s Most Improved Team Award

Bowdoin College receives 2020 Women’s Most Improved Team Award at CSA National Collegiate Individual Championships (l to r): Assistant Coach Ian Squiers, first-year Caroline Glaser, Head Coach Theo Woodward, and CSA Executive Director & League Commissioner David Poolman (photo: Michael T. Bello)

Bowdoin College has earned the College Squash Association’s (CSA) 2020 Women’s Most Improved Team Award. The award, voted on by all of the CSA women’s varsity coaches, recognizes the team that has improved the most since the end of the previous season in both its final team ranking and the quality of the opponents it has surpassed.

In Head Coach Theo Woodward’s first season at Bowdoin, the Polar Bears went from finishing the 2018-2019 season ranked 34th in the nation to capping off a strong season with a ranking of 22 for the 2019-2020 season. The 12-position jump is the largest improvement from any women’s team in the CSA this year.

The Polar Bears finished the regular season with an 8-10 record and earned a spot in the 2020 CSA Women’s Team Championships Walker Cup competition. Entering the competition as the 5-seed, Bowdoin lost their quarterfinal matchup against 4-seeded Wesleyan University. They regrouped to beat Hamilton College in the Consolation Semifinals, advancing to the Walker Cup Consolation Finals where they fell to Dickinson College. After competing in the Women’s Team Championships, the Polar Bears ended the 2019-2020 season with a 9-12 record.

The first Women’s Most Improved Team Award was given in 2010. The 2020 award is the first Most Improved Team Award for Bowdoin.