HomeArticlesColby: 2016 – 2017 Men's College Squash Season Preview

Colby: 2016 – 2017 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Colby College Waterville, ME — With the return of seven players from 2016 Men’s College Squash Association National Team Championship starting line-up, this season looks promising for Colby. The team is also expecting the addition of five freshmen, which should add to the Mules’ depth. The squad won the Summers Cup (C Division) consolation last season and plans to improve upon that finish this season. According to head coach Sakhi Khan, the Mules want to capture the Summers Cup. Colby prides itself on sportsmanship. Senior Hugh Doherty “always had the highest standard regarding fair play. He has been a great representative of the Colby Squash Program,” adds Khan. Captaining the Mules will be Patrick McCarthy, who will be tasked with leading a squad with only two seniors. Colby needs to secure a few more wins from the top of its order if it intends to move up the rankings. Given Colby’s depth, don’t be surprised to see the Mules contending for the Summers Cup.

2015-2016 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 13-8

Final Ranking: 21

Team Championships: 5th in the Summers Cup (C Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 2 of 4… Top 3 Win%: .460… Middle 3 Win%: .524… Lower 3 Win%: .651…


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Sakhi Khan

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. William McBrian (2018 – NESCAC Second-Team; NESCAC All-Academic); 3. Elliot Gross (2019); 5. Patrick McCarthy (2017 – NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 6. Ben Kwass (2018); 7. Hugh Doherty (2017); 8. Andrew Swapp (2018 – NESCAC All-Academic); 9. Matt Epstein (2018 – NESCAC All-Academic);

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from Team Championships: 2. CJ Smith (2016 – NESCAC Second-Team; NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 4. Yuga Koda (2016 – NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team; NESCAC All-Academic; CSA Scholar Athlete); 10. Greg Ho (2016);

Additions to the 2016-2017 Roster:

  • Charlie Bearegard
  • Will Pepi
  • Jason Brodo
  • Ian Mansfield
  • Sam Hitt

Captain: Patrick McCarthy

Team Goals: Win the Summers Cup

Key Matches: NESCAC Matches

To read other team previews, please visit the 2016-2017 College Squash Season Previews page.