HomeArticles2016 Liberty League Men's College Squash Awards Announced

2016 Liberty League Men’s College Squash Awards Announced

Liberty LeagueTroy, NY — In March, the Liberty League announced its men’s college squash award winners.

For the third consecutive year, St. Lawrence captured the Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors. Amr Khaled Khalifa, a senior at St. Lawrence, won his fourth consecutive Player of the Year honor. He was also recognized with the Men’s College Squash Association’s Skillman Award. He helped St. Lawrence capture its third consecutive Liberty League title.

Rookie of the Year honors went to St. Lawrence’s Lenard Puski. He had a 19-2 overall record. Puski won one of the four Molloy Cup draws at the Individual Championships, earning him a Second Team All-American honor.

Coaching Staff of the Year honors went to the University of Rochester leadership team: head coach Martin Heath and assistant coaches Adam Perkiomaki, Oscar Lopez Hidalgo and Jesse Cramer. The Yellowjackets went 12-4 on the season and finished the year ranked #2 in the nation. Rochester lost the Potter Cup (national championship) final to Yale University, 4-5.

The nine All-League Team members were unanimous selections. Khalifa and Rochester’s Neil Cordell were the only seniors on the squad.

Rochester and St. Lawerence each placed four players on the All-League team. Hobart earned the remaining position.

Player of the Year

  • Amr Khaled Khalifa (St. Lawrence University)

Rookie of the Year

  • Lenard Puski (St. Lawrence University)

Coaching Staff of the Year

2016 All-League Team

2016 Honorable Mention:

Please note that the Liberty League does not have a women’s squash division and does not name a women’s college squash all-conference team.