HomeArticles2016 College Squash Individual Championships: Day 1 Evening Report

2016 College Squash Individual Championships: Day 1 Evening Report

College Squash AssociationStamford, CT — The 2016 Individual Championships began this afternoon at Chelsea Piers.

Ramsay Cup (Women’s A Division): In the Round of 16, the top four seeds all advanced: Top-seeded Kanzy El Defrawy (Trinity) advanced with a three-game win over Hayley Hughes (Drexel). Sabrina Sobhy (Harvard), the number two seed, won 12-10 in the fifth to advance over Penn’s Marie Stephan. Another Penn player, Reeham Sedky, the third seed, won in three over Celine Yeap of Yale, and Princeton’s Olivia Fiechter, seeded fourth, came back from 0-1 to win in four over Alyssa Mehta (Harvard). In tomorrow’s quarterfinals, El Defrawy will face Penn’s Yan Xin Tan, who upset Raneem Sharaf (Trinity) in four. Sobhy will take on Wesleyan’s Laila Samy, who upset Princeton’s Maria Elena Ubina in three. Sedky will play her Penn teammate, Anaka Alankamony, who advanced with a four-game win over Jenny Scherl (Yale). Fiechter will play Harvard’s Kayley Leonard, who defeated Anna Porras (George Washington) in four games.

Women’s B DivisionThe women’s B Division is divided into four draws with equally distributed seeding. This means that the 17th-ranked player is the top seed in one division, the 18th-ranked player is the top seed in the next, and so on. The draws are labeled A, B, C, and D to distinguish them from each other. The players in the A draw are not all ranked higher than the players in the other draws; indeed, some players in the D draw are ranked higher than players in the A, B, and C draws. Detailed information about how seedings are distributed across draws can be found under National Championship Eligibility. The winners of the four draws will be named Second Team All-Americans.

The following players advanced out of the first round of the A draw: Madeleine Gill (Stanford), Haidi Lala (Penn), Sherilyn Yang (Franklin & Marshall), Tara Shannon (Stanford), Rachel Scherman (Cornell), Emma Uible (Cornell), Sarah Nelson (Bowdoin), and Zandra Ho (Stanford).

These players won in the Round of 16 in the B draw: Rachel Leizman (Princeton), Samantha Chai (Princeton), Reyna Pacheco (Columbia), Jennifer Haley (Trinity), Sarah Bell (Stanford), Nicole Friedman (Williams), Rebecca Brownell (Dartmouth), and Madlen O’Connor (Columbia).

In the C draw, the following players advanced to the quarterfinals: Tanvi Khanna (Columbia), Hedvika Suchankova (Dickinson), Fiona Murphy (Franklin & Marshall), Ryan Morgan (Drexel), Kristyna Alexova (Bates), Torey Lee (Bowdoin), Sachika Balvani (Trinity), and Shiyuan Mao (Yale).

With wins in the first round of the D draw, the following players moved on to the quarterfinals: Breanne Flynn (George Washington), Dileas MacGowan (Harvard), Catherine Jenkins (Columbia), Michelle Wong (Penn), Quincy Beck (Brown), Alexandra Toth (Princeton), Kira Keating (Princeton), and Anna Kimberley (Trinity).

Pool Trophy (Men’s A Division): The players with the top four seedings — Ahmed Abdel Khalek (Bates), Amr Khalifa (St. Lawrence), Mario Yanez (Rochester), and Rick Penders (Trinity) — all advanced to the quarterfinals. Abdel Khalek, the defending individual champion, defeated Neil Cordell (Rochester) in three games. Khalifa, the 2014 individual champion, won in three over Marwan Mahmoud (Penn). Yanez defeated Bryan Koh of Harvard in three, and Penders won over TJ Dembiniski of Yale in four. In tomorrow’s quarterfinals, Abdel Khalek will play St. Lawrence’s Moustafa Bayoumy, who defeated Rishi Tandon (Columbia) in three games. Khalifa will face Ryosei Kobayashi (Rochester); Kobayashi advanced by winning in three over Michael Craig (Trinity). Yanez will take on Osama Khalifa (Columbia), who defeated Ahmed Hatata (Bates) in three. Penders will play Omar El Atmas (Drexel), a three-game winner over Ahmed Bayoumy (St. Lawrence).

Men’s B Division: Like the women’s B Division, the men’s B Division is divided into four draws with equally distributed seeding. For more information about the seedings, please see National Championship Eligibility. At stake in each draw is All-American status; the winners of each draw will be named to the Second Team All-America.

In the A draw, the following players advanced to the quarterfinals: Kah Wah Cheong (Yale), George Willis (St. Lawrence), Jarrett Odrich (Virginia), Bransten Ming (Drexel), Harry Freeman (Cornell), Pedro Almeida (Franklin & Marshall), Affeeq Ismail (Trinity), and Mahmoud Abdel-Maksoud (George Washington).

These players saw wins in the B draw Round of 16: Lenard Puski (St. Lawrence), Omar Allaudin (Trinity), Lockie Munro (St. Lawrence), Karim Tarek (Penn), Zachary Leman (Yale), Gustav Runersjo (Cornell), Cody Cortes (Princeton), and Sam Fenwick (Yale).

In the C draw, these players advanced to the next round: Tomotaka Endo (Rochester), Michael Thompson (Drexel), Oisin Logan (George Washington), Jamie Ruggiero (Williams), Noah Brown (Amherst), Ibrahim Bakir (Drexel), James Watson (Penn), and Atticus Kelly (Drexel).

Here are the players who advanced to the quarterfinals in the D draw: Tom De Mulder (Trinity), Mason Blake (Virginia), Sean Kenny (Franklin & Marshall), Jack Herold (Navy), Cole Osborne (Franklin & Marshall), Ziad Elmandouh (Denison), Luke Willemse (Drexel), and Hayes Murphy (Penn).