HomeArticlesColby: 2015 – 2016 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Colby: 2015 – 2016 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Colby CollegeWaterville, ME — After only losing two of their starting nine from last season’s Team Championships, Colby appears ready for a solid run in 2015 – 2016. The Mules’ strength last season came from the middle of their ladder, and with the top 6 all returning and the addition of three first-year players, Colby’s experience will be important. Head coach Sakhi Khan, the NESCAC Coach of the Year, plans to help his players reach their “fullest potential as squash competitors and students while having the time of their lives.” The Mules have identified matches with NESCAC rivals Amherst, Bowdoin, Hamilton, and Wesleyan as key to their placement in the conference and in the national rankings. If Colby wants to accomplish their goal of rising in the rankings and capturing the Summers Cup, the team will need to strengthen its performance in close matches. Last season, the Mules were 3 of 7 in 5-4 matches, including a loss to Brown and three losses to Wesleyan. The young squad at Colby is excited about the upcoming season.

2014-2015 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 14-8

Final Ranking: 21

Team Championships: 5th in the Summers Cup (C Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 3 of 7… Top 3 Win %: 0.5915… Middle 3 Win %: 0.7143… Lower 3 Win %: 0.5362


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Sakhi Khan (NESCAC Coach of the Year)

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. William McBrian (2018 – NESCAC All-Sportsmanship, NESCAC Rookie of the Year, Second Team All-NESCAC); 2. CJ Smith (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic, Second Team All-NESCAC); 3. Ben Kwass (2018); 4. Patrick McCarthy (2017 – NESCAC All-Academic); 5. Yuga Koda (2016 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 6. Hugh Doherty (2017); 8. Andrew Swapp (2018); 10. Greg Ho (2016)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from 2014-2015 Team Championships: 7. John Eder (2015); 9. Ben York (2015)

Additions to the 2015-2016 Roster: Elliot Gross, Caldwell Perkins, and Stephen Song

Captains: CJ Smith

Team Goals: Win the Summers Cup

Key Matches: Amherst, Bowdoin, Hamilton, Hobart, and Wesleyan

To read other team previews, please visit the 2015-2016 College Squash Season Previews page.