HomeArticlesAmherst: 2015 – 2016 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

Amherst: 2015 – 2016 Women’s College Squash Season Preview

Amherst CollegeAmherst, MA — Amherst captured their second consecutive Walker Cup last season. According to assistant coach Graham Gal, “After winning the Walker Cup for a second year, it is now time to move up to the Kurtz Cup (B Division).” The squad also wants to bring home a Little Three title, which Amherst women’s squash has not done since the 1999 – 2000 season. “EVERY Amherst team has a goal of winning the Little Three,” emphasizes Gal. The Jeffs are well positioned to accomplish their goals. They only lost two players from last season’s Team Championships and are expecting three talented first year players. Gal explains that the team “came back from the summer with a renewed commitment.” Taryn Clary, one of Amherst’s tri-captains, enters her second season captaining the squad. Gal explains that Clary “has always been a very steady player and so provided younger players with a great role model.” Amherst may be in the mix for a spot in the Kurtz Cup this year.

2014-2015 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 12-6

Final Ranking: 17

Team Championships: 1st in the Walker Cup (C Division)

By the Numbers (From US Squash): 5-4 Matches Won: 0 of 0… Top 3 Win %: 0.5263… Middle 3 Win %: 0.5789… Lower 3 Win %: 0.7544


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Peter Robson

Returning Players from Team Championships: 1. Kimberley Krayacich (2018); 3. Haley McAtee (2018); 4. Tiana Palmer-Poroner (2017); 5. Ericka Robertson (2016 – NESCAC All-Academic); 6. Taryn Clary (2016 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic);  8. Khushy Aggarwal (2016 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic, NESCAC All-Sportsmanship); 9. Corri Johnson (2016 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 10. Mae Cromwell (2018); 11. Izzy Derber (2017)

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from 2014-2015 Team Championships: 2. Arielle Lehman (2015 – CSA Scholar Athlete, NESCAC All-Academic); 7. Meyha Sud (2016)

Additions to the 2015-2016 Roster: Priya Sinha (The Westminister School), Rachael Ang (St. Pauls), Emma Crowe (Phillips Academy)

Captains: Taryn Clary, Ericka Robertson, and Khushy Aggarwal

Team Goals: Win the Little 3 title and finish in the Kurtz Cup

Key Matches: Williams, Wesleyan, Brown, Middlebury, and Bates

To read other team previews, please visit the 2015-2016 College Squash Season Previews page.