HomeArticles2015 Liberty League Men's College Squash Awards Announced

2015 Liberty League Men’s College Squash Awards Announced

Liberty LeagueTroy, NY — In March, the Liberty League announced its men’s college squash award winners.

For the second consecutive year, St. Lawrence captured the Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, and Coaching Staff of the Year honors. Amr Khaled Khalifa, a junior at St. Lawrence, won his third consecutive Player of the Year honor.

Rookie of the Year honors went to St. Lawrence’s Edgar Zayas. He had a 13-4 overall record. Zayas was named a CSA First Team All-American.

Coaching Staff of the Year honors went to the St. Lawrence University leadership team: head coach Chris Abplanalp and assistant coach Nikhil Seth. The Saints captured the 2014 – 2015 Liberty League title. Abplanalp guided the Saints to a season-ending ranking of 2nd, the highest finish in program history. St. Lawrence’s only losses of the season came against Trinity College, once in the regular season and in the National Championship final.

Only one senior earned All-League honors: Ibrahim Khan (St. Lawrence). St. Lawrence had five All-Liberty League players, while Rochester had four.

Player of the Year

  • Amr Khaled Khalifa (St. Lawrence University)

Rookie of the Year

  • Edgar Zayas (St. Lawrence University)

Coaching Staff of the Year

2015 All-League Team

Please note that the Liberty League does not have a women’s squash division and does not name a women’s college squash all-conference team.