2014 College Squash Individual Championships: Day 1 Early Afternoon Report


College Squash AssociationPhiladelphia, PA — The College Squash Association’s 2013 – 2014 Individual Championships are underway.

Ramsay Cup (Women’s A Division): In the only five-game match of the opening round, George Washington’s Anna Porras advanced past Yale’s Shihui Mao (11-8, 11-6, 12-14, 7-11, 11-3). The following players advanced: Amanda Sobhy, Anna Porras, Libby Eyre, Haley Mendez, Maria Elena Ubina, Yan Xin Tan, Anna Kimberley, Anaka Alankamony, Millie Tomlinson, Haidi Lala, Michelle Wong, Catalina Pelaez, Kim Hay, Nicole Bunyan, Kanzy El Defrawy,and Danielle Letourneau.

Holleran Cup (Women’s B Division): The majority of Holleran Cup matches are currently being played. Mount Holyoke’s Sherouk Khefagy came from 0-2 down to advance past Hamilton’s Hilary Gray (9-11, 12-14, 11-5, 11-5, and 11-5).

Pool Trophy (Men’s A Division): The majority of players advanced in three games. The second round of matches will feature Ali Farag, Dylan Ward, Brandon McLaughlin, Samuel Kang, Nick Sachvie, Miled Zarazua, Karen Malik, Moustafa Bayoumy, Ramit Tandon, Rishi Tandon, Tyler Osborne, Neil Cordell, Abhishek Pradhan, Mario M Yanez, Ryosei Kobayashi, and Amr Khaled Khalifa. In a match up of brothers, Ramit and Rishi Tandon will play at 6 PM.

Molloy Cup (Men’s B Division): The majority of Molloy Cup matches are currently being played. Bates’ Darrius Campbell advanced in five games over Navy’s Mitchell Bottini (11-9, 11-8, 9-11, 3-11, and 11-6). Columbia’s Daniel Saleem also advanced in five games over Franklin & Marshall’s Brian Henry (5-11, 3-11, 11-4, 11-3, and 13-11).