2014 College Squash Individual Championships: Day 1 Evening Report


College Squash AssociationPhiladelphia, PA — The rounds of 16 in the A Divisions and the rounds of 32 in the B Divisions concluded this afternoon.

Ramsay Cup (Women’s A Division): The round of 16 saw a number of players advance in three games:  Kanzy El Defrawy (Trinity), Haley Mendez (Harvard), Catalina Pelaez (Trinity),  Amanda Sobhy (Harvard), Millie Tomlinson (Yale), and Maria Elena Ubina (Princeton). Penn’s Anaka Alankamony came back from 0-1 to defeat Trinity’s Anna Kimberley, and Cornell’s Danielle Letourneau also won in four against the Quakers’ Michelle Wong.

Holleran Cup (Women’s B Division):  There were a number of exciting matches in the round of 32. Penn’s Leslie Gill advanced in five over Columbia’s Colette Sultana. Another Columbia player came out on top of a five-game decision, as Grace Van Arkel sent Princeton’s Tara Harrington to the consolations. St. Lawrence’s Jillian Baker also defeated Mount Holyoke’s Randima Ranaweera in five. The round of 16 will be played tomorrow morning.

Pool Trophy (Men’s A Division): Princeton’s Sammy Kang and Cornell’s Nick Sachvie both rebounded after losing their first game in the round of 16 to win in four; Kang defeated Harvard’s Brandon McLaughlin, and Sachvie beat Trinity’s Miled Zarazua. Advancing in three games were Moustafa Bayoumy (St. Lawrence), Neil Cordell (Rochester), Ali Farag (Harvard), Amr Khaled Khalifa (St. Lawrence), and Ramit Tandon (Columbia).

Molloy Cup (Men’s B Division): Six matches in the round of 32 went the distance. Penn’s Rahil Fazelbhoy won in five over St. Lawrence’s Vir Seth, as did St. Lawrence’s Chris Fernandez over George Washington’s Andres de Frutos. Michael LeBlanc (Princeton) put in his second five-game match of the day to defeat Navy’s Jim Kacergis. Ben Leizman, another Tiger, also won in five against Sebastian Riedelsheimer (St. Lawrence). Dylan Cunningham’s (Franklin & Marshall) victory over Trinity’s Affeeq Ismail was another five-gamer, and St. Lawrence’s Ibrahim Khan came back from 0-2 to advance over Tufts’ Aditya Advani.