HomeArticles2014 Women’s Award Winners Announced

2014 Women’s Award Winners Announced

Princeton, NJ — The winners of the 2014 Richey, Wetzel, Chaffee, and Most Improved Team Awards were announced during the award ceremony at the Women’s National Team Championships, which were held over the weekend at Princeton University.

Richey Award: The Richey Award is given annually to the women’s college squash player who best exemplifies the ideals of squash in her love of and devotion to the game, her strong sense of fairness, and her excellence of play and leadership. The 2014 Richey Award was presented to Catalina Pelaez of Trinity College.

Wetzel Award: The Wetzel Award is presented annually to a senior who began playing squash in college and has progressed to a high level of skill, demonstrates a sound understanding of the game, and exhibits good sportsmanship and a positive demeanor on the court. The 2014 Wetzel Award was presented to Michaela Martin of Bowdoin College.

Chaffee Award: The Chaffee Award is given annually to a coach whose team has demonstrated the qualities of sportsmanship, teamwork, character, and improvement. The 2014 Chaffee Award was presented to Brown University and head coach Stuart le Gassick.

Most Improved Team Award: The Most Improved Team Award is based on both the number of spots a team has improved in the rankings as well as the strength of the opponents they have surpassed. The 2014 Most Improved Team Award was presented to St. Lawrence University and head coach Chris Abplanalp.

CollegeSquashAssociation.com will have more in-depth coverage of the awards after the championship season concludes.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2014 Women’s College Squash Association annual awards!