HomeArticlesTrinity: 2013 – 2014 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Trinity: 2013 – 2014 Men’s College Squash Season Preview

Trinity College Hartford, CT — As defending national champions, the Trinity Bantams are in a familiar spot. But was their victory last season the start of another string of titles or a last hurrah? The young squad will have their work cut out for them as they answer that question. The team is down two starters from last season, thanks to the graduation of number 1 Reinhold Hergeth and number 6 Johan Detter, and the returners from last season will have to step up to fill their spots in the ladder. Three new players — Alex Demeulenaere, William Douglas, and Matthew Giacco — will be joining the roster in the fall. As usual, traditional squash powers Yale, Harvard, and Princeton will be among the toughest matches on the Bantams’ schedule. “These will be the teams that can stop us winning the National Championship,” says assistant coach Chris Binnie. Trinity also has a new dual-match opponent on the schedule, a team that made waves at last year’s national championship: St. Lawrence. Binnie is optimistic about the new season. “We’re looking forward to the season and doing well with our young team,” he says. “We hope to win the National Championship again!”

2012-2013 SEASON RECAP

Season Record: 17-0

Final Ranking: 1

Team Championships: 1st in the Potter Cup


Program Status: Varsity

Head Coach: Paul Assaiante (NESCAC Coach of the Year)

Returning Players from Team Championships: 2. Juan Vargas (2016 – Second Team All-American; First Team All-NESCAC); 3. Miled Zarazua (2015 – Second Team All-American; First Team All-NESCAC); 4. Karan Malik (2015 – Second Team All-NESCAC); 5. Vrishab Kotian (2015); 7. Zeyad El Shorfy (2016); 8. Moustafa Hamada (2015); 9. Matthew Mackin (2014 – Second Team All-NESCAC);

Graduated/Non-Returning Players from 2012-2013 Team Championships: 1. Reinhold Hergeth (2013 – First Team All-NESCAC); 6. Johan Detter (2013 – Second Team All-American; Scholar Athlete; Second Team All-NESCAC; NESCAC All-Sportsmanship; NESCAC All-Academic); 10. Juan Flores (2013); Trinity College 11. Juan Lopez (2013 – NESCAC All-Academic)

Additions to the 2013-2014 Roster:

  • Other addition: Alex Demeulenaere, William Douglas, and Matthew Giacco

Captain: Matthew Mackin

Team Goals: To win the National Championship

Key Matches: Yale, Harvard, and Princeton

To read other team previews, please visit the 2013-2014 College Squash Season Previews page.