HomeArticles2013 – 2014 Intercollegiate Doubles Championships Results

2013 – 2014 Intercollegiate Doubles Championships Results

Philadelphia, PA —  The 2013 – 2014 Intercollegiate Doubles Championships were held this weekend at the Racquet Club of Philadelphia and the Germantown Cricket Club.

This season, 13 schools sent players to the event: Columbia, Denison, Drexel, Franklin & Marshall, Haverford, Johns Hopkins, Princeton, Navy, Rochester, St. Lawrence, Trinity, Virginia, and Yale.

The intercollegiate doubles championships, which were restarted in 1988 with help from Keen Butcher and Rusty Ball, celebrated its twenty-seventh consecutive men’s tournament, its fourth year of women’s competition, and third year of mixed doubles competition.

Participants in the 2013-2014 Intercollegiate Doubles Championships (Image Steve Line)
Participants in the 2013-2014 Intercollegiate Doubles Championships (Image Steve Line)

In the six-team women’s draw, the top two seeded teams met in the finals. Princeton’s Rachel Leizman and Maria Elena Ubina, the top seed, defeated Columbia’s Diya Kumar and Alisha Maity (15-7, 15-13, and 15-6).

Going into the finals, Navy knew they were destined for the men’s title. After all, four Midshipmen were in the finals. Hunter Beck and Andrew McGuinness defeated sibling teammates Jim Kacergis and Bill Kacergis in three games (15-8, 15-7, and 15-7). This is Navy’s first national title since the 1967 nine-man team championship.  “I believe our players’ desire and ability to play as a team made the difference.  I’m proud of the effort made by all of our teams that played this weekend,” Navy head coach Craig Dawson told NavySports.com.

In the mixed doubles draw, Princeton’s Samuel Kang and Maria Elena Ubina defeated Franklin & Marshall’s  Pedro Veiga De Almeida and Fiona Murphy. Prior to playing her first regular season collegiate match for the Tigers, Ubina has already captured two national collegiate titles.

For complete results, please visit the U.S. SQUASH Tournament page.