HomeArticles2013 Liberty League Men's College Squash Awards Announced

2013 Liberty League Men’s College Squash Awards Announced

Liberty LeagueTroy, NY — In March, the Liberty League announced its men’s college squash award winners.

St. Lawrence first-year player Amr Ahmed Khalifa was named the 2012-2013 Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year. Khalifa’s debut season was one for the record books. Playing number 1 for the Saints, he went 15-0 on the season and helped lead the team to a sixth-place finish at the 2013 Men’s National Team Championships, a program-best finish. At the 2013 Individual Championships, Khalifa defeated 2011 individual champion Todd Harrity of Princeton in three games to become St. Lawrence’s first national champion in men’s squash.

Coaching Staff of the Year honors went to the University of Rochester leadership team: head coach Martin Heath and assistant coach Hameed Ahmed. The Yellowjackets captured the 2012-2013 Liberty League title this year, their sixth consecutive league championship. Rochester ended the season as the highest ranked team in the conference with their fifth-place finish at the 2013 Men’s National Team Championships.

Three seniors earned All-League honors: Andres Duany, Oscar Lopez, and Adam Perkiomaki, all of Rochester. Vassar senior Jacob Harris also earned Honorable Mention All-League recognition.

Player and Rookie of the Year

  • Amr Khaled Khalifa (St. Lawrence)

Coaching Staff of the Year

2013 All-League Team

Honorable Mention

Please note that the Liberty League does not have a women’s squash division and does not name a women’s college squash all-conference team.